PDA

View Full Version : Apogee Duet 1 (firewire) on Mountain Lion




HoldernessMedia
Jun 19, 2012, 07:37 PM
For those Duet 1 (firewire) owners concerned about updating to Mountain Lion, I wanted to report that so far it is working great in the latest developer preview.
I didn't need to reinstall Maestro 2 or anything, just running as normal. :)
Of course your results may vary, but I have had no problems with my Duet since the August 11 Duet software update, through Lion and now Mountain Lion.

You should be aware though that Apogee is not going to officially support the 1st gen Duet with anymore software updates, so keep that in mind.

For reference this is on a 2009 MBP 2.8ghz core 2 duo.



Cicatrix
Jun 23, 2012, 11:33 AM
For those Duet 1 (firewire) owners concerned about updating to Mountain Lion, I wanted to report that so far it is working great in the latest developer preview.
I didn't need to reinstall Maestro 2 or anything, just running as normal. :)
Of course your results may vary, but I have had no problems with my Duet since the August 11 Duet software update, through Lion and now Mountain Lion.

You should be aware though that Apogee is not going to officially support the 1st gen Duet with anymore software updates, so keep that in mind.

For reference this is on a 2009 MBP 2.8ghz core 2 duo.
good to hear. I have the duet 2, I hope the same holds true for it.

HoldernessMedia
Jun 23, 2012, 01:54 PM
good to hear. I have the duet 2, I hope the same holds true for it.

I'm itching to upgrade to the Duet 2 soon, but in the meantime I'm happy my 1st gen is still working smooth on 10.8.
If I do end up getting a Duet 2 before the Mountain Lion public release I'll update this thread.

NGMstudios
Jul 2, 2012, 12:51 PM
HoldernessMedia, I googled 'apogee Duet mountain lion os' and this was one of the first selections that came up. Thanks for posting your experience thus far. I will not be upgrading my Apogee Duet "1". It works just fine but I did have many issues with getting it to work with Lion OS in the very beginning of Lion being released. I waited for the software to be updated for a few weeks.

It is good to hear that you are running you Duet with Mountain Lion successfully.

HoldernessMedia
Jul 2, 2012, 01:18 PM
HoldernessMedia, I googled 'apogee Duet mountain lion os' and this was one of the first selections that came up. Thanks for posting your experience thus far. I will not be upgrading my Apogee Duet "1". It works just fine but I did have many issues with getting it to work with Lion OS in the very beginning of Lion being released. I waited for the software to be updated for a few weeks.

It is good to hear that you are running you Duet with Mountain Lion successfully.

Youre welcome. This is exactly why I posted here, there's not much info about the Duet 1's compatibility with Mountain Lion at the moment so hopefully more people come across this in their google searches. :)

I'll update this thread when the Mountain Lion GM build is released in case there's any changes with the Duet 1.

HoldernessMedia
Jul 9, 2012, 08:55 PM
Just a quick update. I've just installed the GM build of Mountain Lion on my MBP, the Duet 1 still works great. :D

fsjjeff
Jul 9, 2012, 11:22 PM
Just wanted to add a small detail as I've just tested the same thing (Duet 1 FireWire with Mountain Lion GM).

I'm assuming you have been installing Mountain Lion over a previous install so the driver has been brought over. If you do a fresh install of 10.8 though, the current Duet driver installer will tell you it needs 10.6 or 10.7 and will refuse to install.

You can change OS check by editing the Info.plist file inside the package. Near the bottom of the plist is a <dict> section with LabelKey = MaximumOS, and a bit below that it says <TestObject> and has a 4xxx number (can't remember exact number because I've changed mine already). Change that to something higher (I set mine to 6000) and save. Now you should be able to run the installer ok.

HoldernessMedia
Jul 9, 2012, 11:57 PM
Just wanted to add a small detail as I've just tested the same thing (Duet 1 FireWire with Mountain Lion GM).

I'm assuming you have been installing Mountain Lion over a previous install so the driver has been brought over. If you do a fresh install of 10.8 though, the current Duet driver installer will tell you it needs 10.6 or 10.7 and will refuse to install.

You can change OS check by editing the Info.plist file inside the package. Near the bottom of the plist is a <dict> section with LabelKey = MaximumOS, and a bit below that it says <TestObject> and has a 4xxx number (can't remember exact number because I've changed mine already). Change that to something higher (I set mine to 6000) and save. Now you should be able to run the installer ok.

Good point, I installed over a previous install of Lion, so I did not need to reinstall the driver.

This is a really great tip for those that do a fresh install of 10.8, thanks for sharing it!

vibeknight
Jul 23, 2012, 01:39 AM
Has anyone here had any luck with the Duet 2 and the Mountain Lion GM?
I'm trying to set up a Duet 2 for the first time, using Mountain Lion, and the Maestro installer always fails right at the end. I tried the plist solution posted above to no avail, but that's about it so far. Any ideas?

darkslide29
Jul 24, 2012, 04:12 PM
Thanks, I've been nervously googling for weeks since I know Apogee won't be providing any more official support. Whew! Just in time, as Mountain Lion is coming out tomorrow.

For those Duet 1 (firewire) owners concerned about updating to Mountain Lion, I wanted to report that so far it is working great in the latest developer preview.
I didn't need to reinstall Maestro 2 or anything, just running as normal. :)
Of course your results may vary, but I have had no problems with my Duet since the August 11 Duet software update, through Lion and now Mountain Lion.

You should be aware though that Apogee is not going to officially support the 1st gen Duet with anymore software updates, so keep that in mind.

For reference this is on a 2009 MBP 2.8ghz core 2 duo.

goodgnus
Jul 24, 2012, 04:27 PM
It looks like tomorrow is the big day. Apple just announced that Mountain Lion hits the Mac App store on Wednesday, July 25th. I think I'll be holding off on this one for a few weeks (he says, knowing he'll probably give in to temptation sooner than that)

ANTONkoolaid
Jul 25, 2012, 10:02 AM
Has anyone here had any luck with the Duet 2 and the Mountain Lion GM?
I'm trying to set up a Duet 2 for the first time, using Mountain Lion, and the Maestro installer always fails right at the end. I tried the plist solution posted above to no avail, but that's about it so far. Any ideas?

Any change on this with official release of ML?

HoldernessMedia
Jul 25, 2012, 11:46 AM
I checked Apogee's site today since Mountain Lion is released, they have a new installer software for Lion/Mountain Lion for the original FireWire Duet!
The page says its intended for first time installs on Mountain Lion as well as Lion.

http://apogeedigital.com/downloads.php#DUET

Seems if you already that August 2011 Duet software installed then you don't need to use this.

Rhuantavan
Sep 5, 2012, 02:02 PM
Well, I am having problems with my Duet on Mountain Lion. It is generally behaving weird:

1. Sometimes changing the volume via the mac volume keys will not change the output volume on the duet
2. When changing the volume level, the volume indicators on the screen will overlap with both mac's standard volume indicator and duet's indicator.
3. Sometimes when connecting the Duet, it won't even be recognized and I need to restart the mac for it to work.

Anyone having any of my problems?

HoldernessMedia
Sep 6, 2012, 04:38 PM
Well, I am having problems with my Duet on Mountain Lion. It is generally behaving weird:

1. Sometimes changing the volume via the mac volume keys will not change the output volume on the duet
2. When changing the volume level, the volume indicators on the screen will overlap with both mac's standard volume indicator and duet's indicator.
3. Sometimes when connecting the Duet, it won't even be recognized and I need to restart the mac for it to work.

Anyone having any of my problems?

I've had 1 and 2 occasionally on Mountain Lion, they seem related. I've noticed it happen when I have Ableton and/or Logic using the Duet for output, and then switching the system output back and forth between Duet and Soundflower. I don't remember this happening before Mountain Lion. Not a huge deal, but it's annoying.

Sayyes
Oct 6, 2012, 05:41 PM
I have upgraded to Mountain Lion (including software date for latest version) and installed Maestro 2 which is said to be compatible for the Duet Fire wire with mountain lion and i'm experiencing pops and clicks on play back in Logic, or on other audio when Logic is open. i am running logic 9.1.7 32 Bit mode on a 3.06GHZ intel core i3 imac with 4GB ram.

I really don't want to have to go back to snow leopard but starting a recording project soon and it seems like there is no other option, I don't understand and googling it seems like everyone else's is working fine except mine. Is there anything else I can do?