PDA

View Full Version : 2012 MBA Wifi 5ghz Transmit Rate.




tigres
Jun 21, 2012, 10:24 AM
Hi all.

My 13" has a max transmit rate of 300 on the 5ghz band, whereas my other machines have a 450 transmit rate reporting.

Can anyone tell me if they are seeing the 450 on their new machine (hold down option and click the wifi icon on menu). If so, can anyone advise why I would not be getting it?

Detailed approaches are appreciated. (It is a new APX and Time Capsule) btw and both are working fine with MBP's @ 450 transmit rate.

Thanks!



Skoopman
Jun 21, 2012, 10:38 AM
My Mac Mini also has a transmit rate of 300 with the new Time Capsule 2TB. They stand right next to each other.

Mosco
Jun 21, 2012, 10:38 AM
Hi all.

My 13" has a max transmit rate of 300 on the 5ghz band, whereas my other machines have a 450 transmit rate reporting.

Can anyone tell me if they are seeing the 450 on their new machine (hold down option and click the wifi icon on menu). If so, can anyone advise why I would not be getting it?

Detailed approaches are appreciated. (It is a new APX and Time Capsule) btw and both are working fine with MBP's @ 450 transmit rate.

Thanks!

Looking at the teardown, http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/MacBook-Air-13-Inch-Mid-2012-Teardown/9457/2

I only see 2 antennas, so I am guessing this isn't a 3 stream device. Also, the macbook pro press release specifically mentions 3 stream, while the air's doesn't.

bogatyr
Jun 21, 2012, 10:47 AM
Does the air have a 3x3 antenna? You can check your MCS-Index to see how many are being used:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEEE_802.11n-2009#Data_rates

Both of my 2011 MBAs only reach rates with 2x2, neither are hitting an index for 3 antennas.

tigres
Jun 21, 2012, 11:06 AM
My Mac Mini also has a transmit rate of 300 with the new Time Capsule 2TB. They stand right next to each other.

Looking at the teardown, http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/MacBook-Air-13-Inch-Mid-2012-Teardown/9457/2

I only see 2 antennas, so I am guessing this isn't a 3 stream device. Also, the macbook pro press release specifically mentions 3 stream, while the air's doesn't.


Well that explains that.
Strange, thought it had 3 antennas.

Thanks for the assistance, and tests.

Mosco
Jun 21, 2012, 11:44 AM
Well that explains that.
Strange, thought it had 3 antennas.

Thanks for the assistance, and tests.

Yeah, its disappointing. I didn't check until I saw this thread. I have about 20-25 2.4ghz ACs near my apartment, but I am the only 5GHz one. Would have been nice to get the extra transfer speed.