PDA

View Full Version : HALP! My MBA Forgot How To Play Netflix!

OnceUponAMac
Jun 21, 2012, 09:33 PM
This is driving me crazy. I have a 2010 MBA that has been SUPER choppy on Netflix for about 2 weeks now. I've examined (what I consider to be) the usual suspects:

1. The fan runs like crazy, even shortly after a reboot, but the temp monitor shows the thing hovering in the 50s (C).
2. I (tearfully) purged my 120GB SSD and now have 43GB available. No improvement.
3. Turning off every app besides my browser does not resolve the issue.
4. I don't have these problems with YouTube or Hulu.
5. I get the same results with Firefox and Chrome.
6. Shutting off other WiFi devices doesn't help.
7. I don't have this problem on any other machine (2 Linux, 2 PCs)

Scouring the interwebs, it seems like a lot of people had this problem at the end of 2011, but most threads just sorta drop it by 2012 (mystery patch?). Anyone have ideas?

jedolley
Jun 21, 2012, 09:48 PM
This is driving me crazy. I have a 2010 MBA that has been SUPER choppy on Netflix for about 2 weeks now. I've examined (what I consider to be) the usual suspects:

1. The fan runs like crazy, even shortly after a reboot, but the temp monitor shows the thing hovering in the 50s (C).
2. I (tearfully) purged my 120GB SSD and now have 43GB available. No improvement.
3. Turning off every app besides my browser does not resolve the issue.
4. I don't have these problems with YouTube or Hulu.
5. I get the same results with Firefox and Chrome.
6. Shutting off other WiFi devices doesn't help.
7. I don't have this problem on any other machine (2 Linux, 2 PCs)

Scouring the interwebs, it seems like a lot of people had this problem at the end of 2011, but most threads just sorta drop it by 2012 (mystery patch?). Anyone have ideas?