PDA

View Full Version : Home Theatre receiver volume issue

bigpoppamac31
Jun 24, 2012, 06:41 PM
I just recently purchased a used Sony home theatre receiver and am starting to set it up. I've only hooked up the left and right speakers to make sure the system works well. Sound is great once acquired but I seem to have to turn up the volume fairly high to really hear anything. Volume indicator on display starts at 0 and I have to turn it up to about 30 or so get decent volume level. I even put my ear right to the speaker as I'm turning it up so I can hear the volume increase. Is this normal or would my receiver need to be "tuned up"?

bigpoppamac31
Jun 24, 2012, 09:34 PM
400 views and no one has an answer? That's odd. Any one able to help? I'm kinda new at this. Thank you.

MacInTO
Jun 24, 2012, 11:29 PM
It could depend upon your input source - or is the sound issue with all sources?

What home theatre receive are you using?

bigpoppamac31
Jun 25, 2012, 04:03 AM
It could depend upon your input source - or is the sound issue with all sources?

What home theatre receive are you using?

I am playing movies/games from my PS3 preferably using the optical digital audio option. My receiver is the Sony STR-DE985. Also one of the optical digital ports on the back stays lit up all the time when I'm on one particular function. Is that normal?

MacInTO
Jun 25, 2012, 10:38 AM
I am playing movies/games from my PS3 preferably using the optical digital audio option. My receiver is the Sony STR-DE985. Also one of the optical digital ports on the back stays lit up all the time when I'm on one particular function. Is that normal?

I just thought of something, In most cases, the dialog and sound effects only comes from the centre channel speaker. Try changing the sound field to a two-channel one or try connecting a speaker to the centre channel. If it's playing most of the dialog and sound effects through the centre channel, that would be why it's not loud enough.