PDA

View Full Version : Bootcamp HD Size on Air

Scuba629
Jun 25, 2012, 06:41 AM
What size does everyone use for their Bootcamp partitions? I have a 256GB drive and wasn't sure how large to make the Windows 7 partition...

I'm not sure how many games will go on it but games are the reason I am using Bootcamp and not just a VM.

Thoughts?

paulopadopa
Jun 25, 2012, 06:47 AM
What size does everyone use for their Bootcamp partitions? I have a 256GB drive and wasn't sure how large to make the Windows 7 partition...

I'm not sure how many games will go on it but games are the reason I am using Bootcamp and not just a VM.

Thoughts?

Mine is 30 GB but you can make it bigger if needed later on.

Scuba629
Jun 25, 2012, 07:04 AM
Mine is 30 GB but you can make it bigger if needed later on.

Wait you can resize it? I must admit im new to bootcamp but I thought once you selected the initial partition size it was a done deal. No?

kylera
Jun 25, 2012, 07:14 AM
Wait you can resize it? I must admit im new to bootcamp but I thought once you selected the initial partition size it was a done deal. No?

There are some apps that supposedly resize partitions, but they have mixed results. It's best to set a size, and consider it as a done deal.

Scuba629
Jun 25, 2012, 07:17 AM
I was thinking 60GB but maybe that's to much? After looking at Streams website most games are ready for Mac.

Bob Coxner
Jun 25, 2012, 09:54 AM
I went with a minimal Win 7 bootcamp at 40gb. You could use that as your baseline and then add space for whatever games you need.

joudbren
Jun 25, 2012, 10:36 AM
I set mine at 60GB. I was waffling on whether or not to go 80GB but it really depends on how much you think you'll be using your Win7 partition and how many programs, etc. you'll be installing on the Windows side. Cheers!