PDA

View Full Version : Help: 2012 Air or RMBP?

garfey
Jun 25, 2012, 09:43 AM
I'm having a major dilemma.. I am all poised to buy a RMBP (In fact it may arrive tommorrow) but I can't get over the price and potential overkill of it..

I'm after a new laptop which is able to edit 1080p video (just for youtube etc, I'm not a pro) without dying on me. The ability to play diablo 3 would be bonus but not req'd. Other uses would be light photoshopping and web coding, lots of web browsing and watching movies.

My wife is still a student so obviously we can get it under the HE scheme as she will use it for her uni work which means I can get the nearly top notch 13" MBA with 8GB RAM for 1040 (still has the core i5, Is the i7 worth the extra 100??) vs the 1800 I paid for the Retina MBP. Will I really notice the difference between the 2? One of the reviews said the MBP will export an 8 min 1080p clip in 20 mins vs 33 mins for the MBA.. not that significant in my eyes - not worth nearly double the price anyway.

But i'm really not sure. I do want this laptop to last a few years (the current sony is dying after 18 months!) so will the Air be a good investment?

Thanks for you expertise in advance?

(Yes this is a similar thread to my one in the MBP forum, but I am now looking at the Air rather than a refurb MBP)

anotherarunan
Jun 25, 2012, 09:58 AM
Get the MBA - it doesnt sound like you really need the extra screen real estate and in all honesty I was underwhelmed by the Retina display on the MBP but that's just my opinion.

The MBA will last you years plus you have the added ultra portability compared to the MBP.

The above along with the extra 800 you will save - is worth it!

800 is essentially a new machine in 3 years time anyway!

garfey
Jun 25, 2012, 10:40 AM
Cheers Another - I suspect I don't really need it either.. if I need extra screen estate I can always hook it up to a monitor...