PDA

View Full Version : External Storage Options

Flynner84
Jun 27, 2012, 05:32 PM
Hi all

I've as good as decided to go for an 11 inch MBA but I'm debating whether or not to splash out on the 512g ssd.

My main issue is my music collection. I have about 350g worth and this is only going to increase.

Ideally id like it all on the MBA but if there was a reliable external solution Id go that route in light of how expensive the 512g upgrade is.

What are my options? The time capsule sounds on the face of it like a good option but I've read pretty bad reviews. I'd be happy enough to have my entire collection available at home over the wireless connection and keep my MBA pretty clean.

iTunes match sounds great too but again, people seem to be experiencing issues with it as well.

I'd prefer to avoid a standard external hd If possible.

I intend on starting to do some light video/photo editing and some music production on the air but as I'm a beginner with regards all 3 I'm not sure how important the storage will be.

Might I be as well just shelling out the cash to save myself the hassle down the line?

Any advice greatly appreciated.

GGJstudios
Jun 27, 2012, 05:36 PM
My main issue is my music collection. I have about 350g worth and this is only going to increase.

Ideally id like it all on the MBA but if there was a reliable external solution Id go that route in light of how expensive the 512g upgrade is.

What are my options?
You can split your library, keeping your favorite music on the MBA so it's available when you travel, with the remainder on an external or network drive.

How to split a single iTunes library over two or more media locations (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=11227457#post11227457)

Flynner84
Jun 27, 2012, 05:43 PM
You can split your library, keeping your favorite music on the MBA so it's available when you travel, with the remainder on an external or network drive.