PDA

View Full Version : COMBOBOX populate from text file (cocoa applescript)

nicoboss
Jun 28, 2012, 03:08 PM
Hi,

I am new to all this - I have been using an applescript in my workflow for a long time now and am trying to bring it to the next level thanks to xCode.

But I got stuck rather quickly: I cannot find a way to populate a simple combo box with values taken from a text file located on my desktop.

The idea is the following:

- Open application
- At launch, the application looks for values of the ComboBox located in a text file on my desktop

This is step one of my program (next step will be to use an Xcel chart as reference: column A would be linked to the combo box, and then some text fields will be linked to the same)

I have looked online but wasn't able to find any reference for this.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Red Menace
Jun 28, 2012, 04:55 PM
The class you are looking for is NSComboBox (https://developer.apple.com/library/mac/#documentation/Cocoa/Reference/ApplicationKit/Classes/NSComboBox_Class/Reference/Reference.html).

First, connect your combo box to an outlet property in your script, for example myComboBox. Then you refer to that outlet when using the various class methods. There are a few ways to do this (see the AppleScriptObjC Release Notes (https://developer.apple.com/library/mac/#releasenotes/ScriptingAutomation/RN-AppleScriptObjC/_index.html)), for example:

tell myComboBox
addItemWithObjectValue_("testing") -- single item
addItemsWithObjectValues_({"one", "two", "three"}) -- multiple items
end tell

You will usually see the following form though, since it is closer to the Objective-C examples:
myComboBox's addItemWithObjectValue_("testing")
myComboBox's addItemsWithObjectValues_({"one", "two", "three"})