PDA

View Full Version : AppleScript To Click One Button Only If Another Button Is Unavailable

JonHimself
Jun 29, 2012, 12:45 PM
I'm fairly new to AppleScript so I'll try and explain this as best as I can. I've tried searching (web and MR forums) but haven't been able to come up with much... I'm not entirely sure I know how to ask the question so that makes it harder to find what I'm looking for.

I'm writing an AppleScript to use for running video files through a tagging program (Subler). The issue that I have run into is that when I get to the point where the program searches for results, not all video files return a result. For the files that do not return a result, most of the code will be useless (as it walks through subsequent screens that only matter if search results were found) and when it gets to the end - the last few codes triggering the program to save, close the window and quit the program - will not work because the Search dialogue/pop-up window is still displayed. My work-around is to add a line that triggers the Esc button but I would prefer to do it properly/learn about if/else and UI Elements.

I started using UIElementInspector to learn more about writing AppleScript to control specific UI elements as opposed to using a keystroke (like 36 to just hit enter when I know that the button I want is always the one highlighted).

Once I get to the point where the Search dialogue is opened I have a delay of 65 seconds (usually only takes 20-30 to search but I left extra time). There are two buttons that can then be pressed: "Add" and "Cancel".