PDA

View Full Version : Good resources for Cocoa programming

kaworu1986
Jul 9, 2012, 04:19 PM
What are some good materials to learn how to code in Objective C/Cocoa? I am a WPF developer by trade and am trying to pick up Objective C/Cocoa to port an app but am getting nowhere.
Objective C by itself doesn't seem too bad: you've got your classes, interfaces, accessors, properties and so on; what I'm having enormous trouble with is interface builder: (everything is done by drag and drop, and it's quite obscure) where is the equivalent of code behind I can wire control events to?
Another huge source of confusion is controllers vs delegates: it seems different tutorials use them interchangeably and I have no clue what one or the other should be responsible for.
Is there any good tutorial/book that teaches Cocoa WITHOUT also teaching how to program? I am not looking for a course on object oriented programming or design patterns.

robvas
Jul 9, 2012, 07:06 PM
Cocoa Programming for Mac OS X by Aaron Hillegass

Make sure the book you get covers Xcode 4 - or you'll spend a lot of time going in circles.

GorillaPaws
Jul 10, 2012, 01:48 AM
I agree with the Hillegass book suggestion, get the latest edition.

Xib files don't generate code, they're fully-formed "freeze-dried" objects that get "rehydrated" when they are loaded at runtime. You can create UI objects with code, but it's really not a good idea to manually code your interface instead of learning how to wire up controls (which will take you less time than learning how to manually do it). Take it from people who have been doing this a while, and learn the bits of Interface Builder you need (Hillegass's book will walk you through it).