Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

montymoo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 12, 2012
Hi Guys,

I'm a bit of a novice so please excuse me if this has already been discussed. I have a Mac Mini 2011 as a media centre and i'm looking to install a dual drive set up.

I'm looking at an SSD for apps and and internal HDD for music / video. What I want to know is:

Would a 64GB SSD be sufficient to run OSX, and basic Mac apps such as iTunes? Or would I be better going to 128GB?

Secondly, what's the largest 2.5 drive I can fit into a Mac Mini? Is a 2TB one available? If anyone can point me in the direction of such a drive that would be great.

Thanks

RedCroissant

Suspended
Aug 13, 2011
Hi Guys,

I'm a bit of a novice so please excuse me if this has already been discussed. I have a Mac Mini 2011 as a media centre and i'm looking to install a dual drive set up.

I'm looking at an SSD for apps and and internal HDD for music / video. What I want to know is:

Would a 64GB SSD be sufficient to run OSX, and basic Mac apps such as iTunes? Or would I be better going to 128GB?

Secondly, what's the largest 2.5 drive I can fit into a Mac Mini? Is a 2TB one available? If anyone can point me in the direction of such a drive that would be great.

Thanks

64GB should be more than sufficient since the MAC OS X footprint is less than 30GB. I however would go with a higher capacity SSD. And a 2TB drive is available from Western Digital and I highly recommend their products. The drive is a 2TB Caviar Green drive which is designed to conserve energy, so your idea of using it as your storage drive in addition to the SSD as a boot drive i smart and your setup should be great. Here's the link:

http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=830

In fact, now I'm wishing I had sen that one because that might have changed the way I upgraded my machine. Oh well. Good luck!

spike8585

macrumors member
Aug 21, 2009