Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

snowydog

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 25, 2011
Hi all

I'm not sure what the protocol is here for asking people to critique my photos, but I'll ask anyways.

Basically my dad is a keen photographer, having photos etc featured in calendars, newsletters etc. I've decided I'd like to try photography as a hobby...after graduating last week my dad bought me a new Canon PowerShot SX220 HS camera. I trust his judgement on what to get me as

1) I have no knowledge on photographer other than the small basics I learnt for part of my sport performance analysis assignment for university

2) I've never had my own camera

3) I'm only starting out, so I'm not in the market for any real hi tech fancy cameras.

After a really brief 101 on the basics of my new camera with dad, I went off to Titanic Belfast just before sunset...unfortunately, problems meant I just missed the sun set behind the hills so I didn't get to take many pictures in in the last few hours of sunshine.

I know my pictures really aren't great, but I'd love for any of you guys to take your time, if you want to, and critique my 28 photos, maybe adding your comments on the pictures.

One of the problems I had was getting the lighting right and then the image quality - after looking through them with my dad after, he explained to about why the quality doesn't look great on some of them and the lighting. He also explained some of the set up of the pictures I took and how they could be better, and what makes them ok, not great or good. He then told me to go on to one of the forums and ask kindly for some people to critique them to help with the beginning of my new hobby :)

As this is one of the few forums I'm a member of, I thought I'd ask you guys.