PDA

View Full Version : Mountain lion AirPlay with games




dladendorf
Jul 17, 2012, 05:21 PM
Hey! Just wondering about this.
I have a 1080p HDTV and was thinking about getting an AppleTV for a few reasons. I'm currently in Japan, and I want to see if AirPlay will stream a live video game, ie. Diablo 3, so technically using my TV as a monitor over AirPlay, or should I just get my monitor shipped over to me.

Any comments or opinions on how AirPlay works with games over Mac or anything?



arashb
Jul 17, 2012, 06:12 PM
Hey! Just wondering about this.
I have a 1080p HDTV and was thinking about getting an AppleTV for a few reasons. I'm currently in Japan, and I want to see if AirPlay will stream a live video game, ie. Diablo 3, so technically using my TV as a monitor over AirPlay, or should I just get my monitor shipped over to me.

Any comments or opinions on how AirPlay works with games over Mac or anything?

You can do that, not sure how well it works but I'm pretty sure it mirrors everything. Or you could get a display out to HDMI cable and use it directly like that, it'll be cheaper and probably more responsive.

dladendorf
Jul 17, 2012, 06:30 PM
You can do that, not sure how well it works but I'm pretty sure it mirrors everything. Or you could get a display out to HDMI cable and use it directly like that, it'll be cheaper and probably more responsive.

I've tried the HDMI cord, it's not as good quality

fatefulwhisper
Jul 17, 2012, 06:48 PM
Hey! Just wondering about this.
I have a 1080p HDTV and was thinking about getting an AppleTV for a few reasons. I'm currently in Japan, and I want to see if AirPlay will stream a live video game, ie. Diablo 3, so technically using my TV as a monitor over AirPlay, or should I just get my monitor shipped over to me.

Any comments or opinions on how AirPlay works with games over Mac or anything?

I've tried Diablo 3 with my 2012 MacBook Air (i7 2 GHz, w/ 8GB RAM), and an Apple TV, both of which were connected to a Time Capsule device, and a lot of frames were being dropped. It's still a bit playable, but not very smooth. I tried other games, and they also had a similar issue, but Diablo 3 had it the worst in my experience. I even tried the game at the lowest settings possible and there were still dropped frames.

FYI, I had a 1080p HDTV as well, and GM Mountain Lion installed on the laptop.

SnowLeopard2008
Jul 17, 2012, 07:18 PM
I've tried the HDMI cord, it's not as good quality

How is it not good quality? HDMI is digital video and audio. That's about as good quality as it can get. AirPlay will not beat HDMI's quality...

dladendorf
Jul 17, 2012, 07:37 PM
How is it not good quality? HDMI is digital video and audio. That's about as good quality as it can get. AirPlay will not beat HDMI's quality...

HDMI from an adapter from my MacBook to my 1080p HDTV doesn't give out good quality

----------

I've tried Diablo 3 with my 2012 MacBook Air (i7 2 GHz, w/ 8GB RAM), and an Apple TV, both of which were connected to a Time Capsule device, and a lot of frames were being dropped. It's still a bit playable, but not very smooth. I tried other games, and they also had a similar issue, but Diablo 3 had it the worst in my experience. I even tried the game at the lowest settings possible and there were still dropped frames.

FYI, I had a 1080p HDTV as well, and GM Mountain Lion installed on the laptop.

So should I just get my apple monitor shipped out to me?

SnowLeopard2008
Jul 17, 2012, 07:51 PM
HDMI from an adapter from my MacBook to my 1080p HDTV doesn't give out good quality

----------



So should I just get my apple monitor shipped out to me?

Something is not right. By "doesn't give out good quality", what do you mean? What's your setup? What are your settings? Are you mirroring the displays or using clamshell mode or what?

arashb
Jul 18, 2012, 04:31 AM
Yeah I think there's another issue going on if you're not getting good quality. I use HDMI to play huge 1080 mkv movies with no problem on my tv. You gotta realize that your monitor will show things better than the tv because the bigger the tv the more stretched your image will appear, even at 1080p.

dladendorf
Jul 18, 2012, 05:34 PM
Something is not right. By "doesn't give out good quality", what do you mean? What's your setup? What are your settings? Are you mirroring the displays or using clamshell mode or what?


My setup is a MacBookPro 2.7 with OSX, I use it clamshell mode with a 25inch LED HDTV (cause barracks room) using the mini adapter to and HDMI cable into my TV. its a bit fuzzy? Meaning less pixles so pretty much less quality because it's stretched I'm guessing.

Nitrocide
Jul 18, 2012, 05:37 PM
My setup is a MacBookPro 2.7 with OSX, I use it clamshell mode with a 25inch LED HDTV (cause barracks room) using the mini adapter to and HDMI cable into my TV. its a bit fuzzy? Meaning less pixles so pretty much less quality because it's stretched I'm guessing.

You should be able to adjust the resolution settings in the System Preferences>Display page. This should clear up the "fuzziness", remember to adjust the display settings in-game also.

SnowLeopard2008
Jul 18, 2012, 05:44 PM
My setup is a MacBookPro 2.7 with OSX, I use it clamshell mode with a 25inch LED HDTV (cause barracks room) using the mini adapter to and HDMI cable into my TV. its a bit fuzzy? Meaning less pixles so pretty much less quality because it's stretched I'm guessing.

You should be able to adjust the resolution settings in the System Preferences>Display page. This should clear up the "fuzziness", remember to adjust the display settings in-game also.

Yes, change the resolution to 1080p. Since you're using clamshell, the MacBook Pro can display a native resolution of 1920 x 1080. That means every pixel on the HVTD is mapped to one pixel on the computer. No fuzziness.