PDA

View Full Version : Good HDD Replacement?




markrox7
Jul 20, 2012, 11:12 AM
Is the Crucial m4 SSD a good replacement for my Macbook Pro (2010) HDD?



negativzero
Jul 20, 2012, 11:27 AM
Yes it is. I'm using one here too, and have nothing but good things to say about it.

Orlandoech.com
Jul 20, 2012, 12:14 PM
thats a great drive, but slower than a Corsair Force GT, which I use and love.

kmpoboy2
Jul 20, 2012, 12:29 PM
Yes! and the Samsung 830 it's a good choice too.

SlCKB0Y
Jul 20, 2012, 01:04 PM
Yes. Just get it already..
:D

markrox7
Jul 20, 2012, 01:55 PM
Yes. Just get it already..
:D

Yup! I ordered it from Amazon and it's supposed to arrive on Tuesday! Just in time for Mountain Lion's (probable) release Wednesday! So excited. The replacement doesn't look hard, I'm just wondering how everything will look when I boot up my Mac to a blank SSD and how I'll have to format it and install Mountain Lion, etc. Seems like a lot to do but I'm excited to do it. Any tips or how-tos would be helpful!

ugp
Jul 20, 2012, 02:31 PM
Awesome drive. I can't say anything bad about mine.

SlCKB0Y
Jul 21, 2012, 12:02 AM
Any tips or how-tos would be helpful!

You'll make your life WAY easier if you get an external enclosure for your existing drive.

That way you install the SSD, put the stock HDD in an enclosure. You'll be able to boot from this and then use the App Store ML app to clean install to the internal SSD.

Doing it this way means that you:
1. Have an easily booted backup in case something goes wrong.
2. You will be putting your previous hard drive to use as an external drive.
3. You don't need to mess about with DVDs or USB sticks.

Sylon
Jul 21, 2012, 01:54 AM
You'll make your life WAY easier if you get an external enclosure for your existing drive.

That way you install the SSD, put the stock HDD in an enclosure. You'll be able to boot from this and then use the App Store ML app to clean install to the internal SSD.

Doing it this way means that you:
1. Have an easily booted backup in case something goes wrong.
2. You will be putting your previous hard drive to use as an external drive.
3. You don't need to mess about with DVDs or USB sticks.


Could you do the same thing if you already have an external HDD you use as a Time Machine backup?


Not saying I would just ditch the old drive, I'm just saying it could skip a couple steps that I'm already doing.

eyepea
Jul 21, 2012, 02:11 AM
You need a Sandforce SSD with a Mac because the OS X won't support Trim on non-Apple SSDs. From my experience Trim Enabler is bad news as well. I had to replace a SSD once after using Trim Enabler. I only buy OCZ and they work well on my MBP and MMs. I am sure others have competing views so do your research.

IP

Edit: By Sandforce I mean an OCZ, OWC etc SSD. Even the new MBA Retina has SandForce now.

johanaziz
Jul 21, 2012, 05:54 AM
The kingston hyperx 3k is sandforce too, which i'm using and very happy with.

jlrathke
Jul 21, 2012, 07:03 AM
I have an early 2011 13" MBP I'm thinking of upgrading with a SSD...is it a straight swap, or is there adapters I need as well.

Thanks,

Jerry