PDA

View Full Version : Does airplay mirroring offer 1080p resolution?




x-evil-x
Jul 21, 2012, 08:45 AM
1920 1080 mirroring... if it doesn't does it at least do 1080i or 720p
on a late 2011 13" macbook pro i7



JohnDoe98
Jul 21, 2012, 10:13 PM
1920 1080 mirroring... if it doesn't does it at least do 1080i or 720p
on a late 2011 13" macbook pro i7

It might depend on your hardware, but I can confirm my RMBP mirrors to 1080p on my Apple TV 3.

x-evil-x
Jul 21, 2012, 11:08 PM
computer is late 2011 13" macbook pro i7

Stooby Mcdoobie
Jul 21, 2012, 11:20 PM
The video is probably going to be very choppy because of the lack of a dedicated graphics card. I was trying to watch a movie in 720p over AirPlay mirroring on my late 2011 13" i5 MBP and the video was unwatchable. It's just too much for the Intel HD 3000 to handle.

I had better luck importing the video into iTunes and then watching it in iTunes via AirPlay since it doesn't have to mirror the screen.

edit: I immediately jumped to the conclusion that you were going to use it to watch movies. If that's not the case, I'm sorry.

The :apple:TV (3rd gen) does support 1080p, but I'm not sure if AirPlay mirroring does.

eagandale4114
Jul 21, 2012, 11:56 PM
1920 1080 mirroring... if it doesn't does it at least do 1080i or 720p
on a late 2011 13" macbook pro i7

Yes it does.

x-evil-x
Jul 22, 2012, 06:40 AM
yea I'm on Intel HD 3000 graphics hopefully it doesn't make things choppy

al82
Jul 23, 2012, 12:24 PM
If your watching video does it do 5.1 DD over airplay?

Stooby Mcdoobie
Jul 23, 2012, 04:20 PM
If your watching video does it do 5.1 DD over airplay?
If you have your :apple:TV hooked up to your surround sound system (optical audio), I don't see why it wouldn't.

Prime85
Jul 23, 2012, 06:18 PM
My late 2011 15" mirrors in 1080p

iOrbit
Jul 23, 2012, 06:33 PM
My late 2011 15" mirrors in 1080p


full screen or with bars?

Senseotech
Jul 23, 2012, 06:38 PM
My 2012 13" Air will AirPlay Mirror 1080p as well, smooth and silky. I've actually been using it to view Hulu on my TV.

Prime85
Jul 23, 2012, 07:16 PM
full screen or with bars?

If it is set to 1080p then it is in full screen but it is set to my macs screen which has a resolution of 1060 then it has the bars. It will let you select if you want it to match the resolution of your mac or match the resolution of your TV

al82
Jul 23, 2012, 08:04 PM
If you have your :apple:TV hooked up to your surround sound system (optical audio), I don't see why it wouldn't.

I just thought i remembered reading somewhere that airplay does not support above 2.1 so was wondering if with mountain lion they opened it up to 5.1.

Macman45
Jul 23, 2012, 08:12 PM
1080p on my MBP 17" and my MBA 13" (both late 2011) Connected via DVI>HDMI cable into my Onkyo system, and then out to a 46" Sony Bravia...It's actually too big, and I tend to use it for games with my MBP...A 46" screen is insane...even I don't need that much real-estate:)

chrisherbert
Jul 23, 2012, 09:39 PM
The video is probably going to be very choppy because of the lack of a dedicated graphics card. I was trying to watch a movie in 720p over AirPlay mirroring on my late 2011 13" i5 MBP and the video was unwatchable. It's just too much for the Intel HD 3000 to handle.



Is the video choppy on both screens? Airplay mirroring uses hardware encoding and shouldn't be too taxing on either the video card or the CPU.

Stooby Mcdoobie
Jul 23, 2012, 09:53 PM
I just thought i remembered reading somewhere that airplay does not support above 2.1 so was wondering if with mountain lion they opened it up to 5.1.
In that case, I'm not sure. I haven't actually tried it myself.

Is the video choppy on both screens? Airplay mirroring uses hardware encoding and shouldn't be too taxing on either the video card or the CPU.
It was just choppy on the :apple:TV. I'm sure if I had a dedicated GPU it would've been alright, but two screens at 720p30fps was just too much for the Intel graphics to handle. I'm sure it could be due to something else, but I don't have a Mac with a dedicated GPU so I can't test it out.

edit: I have had this same problem over both wired and wireless connections, so that can't be the issue.

chrisherbert
Jul 23, 2012, 10:53 PM
It was just choppy on the :apple:TV. I'm sure if I had a dedicated GPU it would've been alright, but two screens at 720p30fps was just too much for the Intel graphics to handle. I'm sure it could be due to something else, but I don't have a Mac with a dedicated GPU so I can't test it out.

edit: I have had this same problem over both wired and wireless connections, so that can't be the issue.

Is the connection wired on both ends (ie, both the Mac and the Apple TV are connected via ethernet)?

Stooby Mcdoobie
Jul 23, 2012, 10:59 PM
Is the connection wired on both ends (ie, both the Mac and the Apple TV are connected via ethernet)?

Yeah, that's the first thing I tried when I noticed the choppy video. I wired both devices to my router and had the same issue. When I watch a low resolution video, wired or wireless, there is no issue.

I'm getting a SSD in a couple days so I'll be running off a fresh install of ML; I'm not expecting any improvements over mirroring, but I guess it could make a difference (I'm currently using the stock 5400 rpm drive that came with the machine).

Zetaprime
Jul 23, 2012, 11:49 PM
Yeah, that's the first thing I tried when I noticed the choppy video. I wired both devices to my router and had the same issue. When I watch a low resolution video, wired or wireless, there is no issue.

I'm getting a SSD in a couple days so I'll be running off a fresh install of ML; I'm not expecting any improvements over mirroring, but I guess it could make a difference (I'm currently using the stock 5400 rpm drive that came with the machine).

It does from my macbook to the ATV 3. I don't think the older ATV's do 1080p.