PDA

View Full Version : Will my hard drive data be wiped when I upgrade to ML?




iSimpsons
Jul 23, 2012, 06:06 AM
I was just wondering when I upgrade to ML, would all my data on my hardrive go? Or would I still have the same information, applications, documents etc. stored?



natd1993
Jul 23, 2012, 06:09 AM
I was just wondering when I upgrade to ML, would all my data on my hardrive go? Or would I still have the same information, applications, documents etc. stored?

No, unless something goes tragically wrong. OS X upgrades just overwrite the system files, and leave your data untouched. You'll notice no change to your data after the upgrade.

maflynn
Jul 23, 2012, 06:10 AM
No, the upgrade option is seamless and you should be all set.

With that said, you really do need a backup, stuff happens and if something did occur your data would be safe.

ixodes
Jul 23, 2012, 06:11 AM
It depends on how you choose to upgrade. There's lots of good info here, just do a search.

I prefer to wipe my drive and start fresh. I've got everything backed up so it's easy. But it's also personal preference.

aristobrat
Jul 23, 2012, 06:21 AM
With that said, you really do need a backup, stuff happens and if something did occur your data would be safe.
x2. OP, if you're not already having Time Machine backup your Mac automatically, I'd def. suggest you consider it!

Funkenstein
Jul 23, 2012, 07:54 AM
x2. OP, if you're not already having Time Machine backup your Mac automatically, I'd def. suggest you consider it!

I'd go with this too.

TheGdog
Jul 23, 2012, 09:42 AM
+1 on all the other posts. Always Always Always backup your data. The day you think you don't need to, is the day you could lose everything. I know a number of people it has happened to!

Zetaprime
Jul 23, 2012, 11:59 PM
It depends on how you choose to upgrade. There's lots of good info here, just do a search.

I prefer to wipe my drive and start fresh. I've got everything backed up so it's easy. But it's also personal preference.

I don't see the need for a fresh start if your system is still working as well now as it was when Lion was first installed. I'd only do a clean install if my OS was not in tip-top shape. A building is only as good as its foundation. If the foundation is sound then you're good to go.

----------

I'd go with this too.

My time machine can take me back to the Cretaceous, so I'm good. :)

ixodes
Jul 24, 2012, 03:24 AM
I don't see the need for a fresh start if your system is still working as well now as it was when Lion was first installed.
There is no right or wrong. It's just a preference of mine.

Of far greater importance is to have an automated backup routine.

steve-p
Jul 24, 2012, 03:50 AM
+1 on all the other posts. Always Always Always backup your data. The day you think you don't need to, is the day you could lose everything. I know a number of people it has happened to!

True. Data isn't data until it's backed up. Until then, it's just temporary files.

Nioxic
Jul 24, 2012, 09:13 AM
a follow up question:

I'm currently using regular lion on my macbook air..

i upgrade to mountain lion in a couple of days..

in a couple of months, ill reformat. will i have to "reinstall" both lion and mountain lion?
or will me hdd partition with the lion installation stuff become mountain lion?

heisenberg123
Jul 24, 2012, 09:29 AM
a follow up question:

I'm currently using regular lion on my macbook air..

i upgrade to mountain lion in a couple of days..

in a couple of months, ill reformat. will i have to "reinstall" both lion and mountain lion?
or will me hdd partition with the lion installation stuff become mountain lion?

what lion stuff? once you upgrade lion no longer will exist, once your format it will be a blank hard drive

Nioxic
Jul 25, 2012, 02:13 PM
what lion stuff? once you upgrade lion no longer will exist, once your format it will be a blank hard drive

yes

but reinstalling lion, comes from my 2nd hdd partition, which is only accesable from the restore function during boot

will updating to lioon change that partition so it installs a "clean" mountain lion, or does it just install "regular" lion, and i have to update again?