Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Fed

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 7, 2012
Liverpool.
It dawned on me a few months ago that I never take photographs. Now, looking back, I think of all the moments I missed or had to bare my phone's camera. I've finally decided to ditch the poor quality photographs and buy something half-decent. If I enjoy it, go one up again. I've narrowed it down to a Panasonic TZ30 and a Canon S100. I think the former has won me though, as the zoom looks very good and will hopefully be adequate for my post-University travelling (now that I have money).

However one thing I've took note of is that small cameras are apparently prone to red eye? Is this correct? Within a review someone explained it was due to the close proximity of the lens and flash? Unfortunately I'm a not a photographer (obviously) and have absolutely no idea why this is so.

Will an application like Apple's Aperture be able to fight this? If so, from an amateur point of view, will it be easy or require a bit of effort learning?

A slight side question to those who are prepared to indulge me: I've noticed the TZ30 doesn't shoot in RAW format. Frankly the fact I have no idea what this is, means that I probably won't need it. But if shooting in this format produces better picture, I'd consider my options.

Last edited:

Nordichund

macrumors 6502
Aug 21, 2007
Oslo, Norway
Congratulations on wanting to improve your camera skills and upgrading your camera.
Both are great cameras with some great specs. As most people on here advise, go down to your local camera store and check out the models you are interested in and experience how comfortable they feel in your hands.

Don't be overwhelmed by all the sales talk of specifications the seller gives you. 99% of cameras in that price range will take excellent photographs.