PDA

View Full Version : Duplicate items in contextual menu?




Watabou
Jul 24, 2012, 08:43 PM
I've been noticing that I get a lot of duplicate applications when I right click an item and hover my mouse on "Open with".

For example, if I right click a index.html file, and I open up the "Open with" submenu, I get 10 Webkits(!), 2 Safaris and 2 TextEdits. How do I stop this from happening? I was alarmed at the number of instances of Webkit and I deleted it, thinking that was somehow the problem but nope. I still get duplicate items.

Here is what it shows when I right click a text file. You can see there are duplicates. It's very annoying especially if it's some common filetype like an image. I get a very long list.

Edit: Oh and I did a clean install of ML. Even a restart doesn't fix the issue.



Silono
Jul 24, 2012, 08:52 PM
Any chance you've experimented with folder hard-linking (shot in the dark)? I'd run the mdfind command to check if there are other copies hidden somewhere for some reason.

mdfind "AppleScript Editor"|grep .app$

change "AppleScript Editor" to whatever you want.

Watabou
Jul 24, 2012, 09:02 PM
Any chance you've experimented with folder hard-linking (shot in the dark)? I'd run the mdfind command to check if there are other copies hidden somewhere for some reason.

mdfind "AppleScript Editor"|grep .app$change "AppleScript Editor" to whatever you want.

No I haven't and the mdfind command only lists one AppleScript app. I only installed ML two weeks ago so I didn't really tinker with the system.

mindlessmissy
Jul 25, 2012, 07:29 AM
Yeah, I sometimes get this, usually after I just restored an image backup ...


But the list usually reverts back to normal after a reboot ...


You can try these Terminal commands to reset the list (If you are comfortable with Terminal commands ...)

cd /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Versions/A/Support/


and then type:


./lsregister -kill -domain local -domain system -domain user

Watabou
Jul 27, 2012, 03:53 AM
Yeah, I sometimes get this, usually after I just restored an image backup ...



Thank you so much! That totally fixed the problem! :D

ECUpirate44
Jul 27, 2012, 06:10 AM
Yeah, I sometimes get this, usually after I just restored an image backup ...


But the list usually reverts back to normal after a reboot ...


You can try these Terminal commands to reset the list (If you are comfortable with Terminal commands ...)

cd /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Versions/A/Support/


and then type:


./lsregister -kill -domain local -domain system -domain user

I have the same issue, but I am not too familiar with Terminal. I am typing the commands and then hitting enter after each one. Is that the process?

Watabou
Jul 27, 2012, 06:25 AM
I have the same issue, but I am not too familiar with Terminal. I am typing the commands and then hitting enter after each one. Is that the process?

I wouldn't type it out if you're not familiar with the terminal. Just copy and paste those above commands and then hit enter after each one.

The problem should go away after that.

ECUpirate44
Jul 27, 2012, 06:48 AM
I wouldn't type it out if you're not familiar with the terminal. Just copy and paste those above commands and then hit enter after each one.

The problem should go away after that.

I meant i'm copying and pasting them!
This is what my terminal looks like after entering the commands separately pressing enter after each.
350177

Watabou
Jul 27, 2012, 02:24 PM
Yup it should be fixed now.

If not, just Option-click the finder and select "Relaunch".

stevelam
Sep 19, 2012, 09:33 AM
Yeah, I sometimes get this, usually after I just restored an image backup ...


But the list usually reverts back to normal after a reboot ...


You can try these Terminal commands to reset the list (If you are comfortable with Terminal commands ...)

cd /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Versions/A/Support/


and then type:


./lsregister -kill -domain local -domain system -domain user

awesome. worked perfectly. thanks!

T'hain Esh Kelch
Nov 28, 2012, 02:17 PM
Worked for me too, thank you!

cmChimera
Jan 31, 2013, 03:55 PM
Yeah, I sometimes get this, usually after I just restored an image backup ...


But the list usually reverts back to normal after a reboot ...


You can try these Terminal commands to reset the list (If you are comfortable with Terminal commands ...)

cd /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Versions/A/Support/


and then type:


./lsregister -kill -domain local -domain system -domain user

Only problem is after reboot, every application is thought to be opening for the first time ever. Any command to revert this back to default?