Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Honza

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 22, 2011
SF Bay Area
I was really itching to try Android and having a hard time waiting until the fall, so I bought a Galaxy S3 a week ago. Now that the honeymoon has worn off, I find myself getting frustrated with some things and missing the iPhone. I'm not against Android, in fact, I love some aspects of it. But both sides represent a trade off, and since I'm slightly torn between the two, I think the iPhone might be better. Android users, feel free to add any suggestions, as I am new to the system and perhaps don't understand it fully.

1. A general gripe - I accept a certain amount of tinkering with my phone, and I certainly enjoy it more than the average person. But beyond a certain level of tinkering I just get frustrated and expect things to work. That's what I miss most about the iPhone. For example, I have my music uploaded to google, so I thought I'd just use the Google Play app. First, this doesn't work with voice control. Second, it had glitches like repeating songs over and over in a playlist in no order (repeat wasn't on; shuffle was). Or I was in a random playlist, and it hit a Beach Boys song, and then would only play Beach Boys after that. So then I have to look for a third party music player. This situation has happened over and over with different things. I need 3rd party apps on iOS for a few things, but I feel like the apps are more polished and work better.