PDA

View Full Version : Safari 6 cache




kenmiles
Jul 27, 2012, 04:07 AM
Can anyone help please.
I have upgraded to Mountain Lion and Safari 6 but no longer see the command to empty the cache in the menu.
Thanks in advance, Ken,



Michaelgtrusa
Jul 27, 2012, 04:15 AM
To clear the cache go to safari prefs/advance and turn on developer. In developer you can scroll down and see it.

kenmiles
Jul 27, 2012, 04:21 AM
To clear the cache go to safari prefs/advance and turn on developer. In developer you can scroll down and see it.

Thanks for that, I would NEVER have found that command.

Regards, Ken.

Macman45
Jul 27, 2012, 04:23 AM
To clear the cache go to safari prefs/advance and turn on developer. In developer you can scroll down and see it.

I found it by accident...Why did they hide it under the DEV section I wonder? Emptying your browser cache is a common operation. All you get from the menu without the DEV section active is re-set Safari, which is far more aggressive...Odd.

Michaelgtrusa
Jul 27, 2012, 05:23 AM
Thanks for that, I would NEVER have found that command.

Regards, Ken.
From Safari Help Menu:

Clear history
Clears the list of webpages you viewed. Also empties caches, removes website icons, and clears the list of recent searches. Website icons are small graphics that help identify sites on the Internet. You see them in the address and search field, the bookmarks list, and other places. You can see your recent searches by clicking the magnifying glass at the left end of the address and search field when itís empty.


The crazy thing is that there is another "Emplty Cache" in the Developers menu, as well.

haravikk
Jul 27, 2012, 05:38 AM
The crazy thing is that there is another "Emplty Cache" in the Developers menu, as well.
Doesn't the developer option only empty the page-cache, since that's what web developers will be most interested in clearing to ensure Safari fetches fresh content?

Michaelgtrusa
Jul 27, 2012, 09:12 AM
I found it by accident...Why did they hide it under the DEV section I wonder? Emptying your browser cache is a common operation. All you get from the menu without the DEV section active is re-set Safari, which is far more aggressive...Odd.

I wondered this also, they didn't need to change that locations as the file size can get large or become corrupted.

----------

Doesn't the developer option only empty the page-cache, since that's what web developers will be most interested in clearing to ensure Safari fetches fresh content?

I believe so.