Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

smileman

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 23, 2011
My screen is fading and getting lines and freezing, making my Air no longer usable. AppleCare expired in Feb.

The first Apple Genius Bar guy I took it to, when the screen was still working ok, thought I might be able to get the screen replaced under the quality program but the screen would need to completely go out first. #

So once it went out the second Apple Genius Bar guy I showed it to said that because the hinge isn't damaged it wouldn't qualify for this program. (I actually already got the screen replaced in Oct. 2010 under the quality program.) He quoted me a price of £340 to replace the screen, which is about the same as the price on iFixit for a full replacement unit.

I am a UK student so the new base-model 13" Air is £859.20 and includes a free 3-year warranty and £70 gift certificate. So the cost of the new screen would be 40% of the price of a new Air.

I'm getting married in Sept. and funds are tight right now so was hoping to hold off on my next Air until the 2013 Haswell model comes out.

Any suggestions on a cheap solution? I'm wondering if I should try taking it back to the same store to see if I can find the original guy to help me out, or try different UK stores? I'm also going to be in Italy and I'm wondering how friendly they are on these types of issues?

Thanks!

manhattanboy

macrumors 6502a
Jan 25, 2007
In ur GF's bed, Oh no he didn't!

A Rev. B MBA is the 2,1 model I believe....
You are much better off buying a new one. The old model, as you noted, has a hinge defect that makes it vulnerable to screen damage. I watch my hinge like a hawk and have had the screens tightened numerous times.
That said, the processor in the new CPUs is much better, and combined with ML installed from the beginning makes it a much better choice.