PDA

View Full Version : iMessage, FaceTime and Dication error




Mautz001
Jul 28, 2012, 02:47 PM
Hey,

after installing Mountain Lion I cannot use FaceTime, Game Center, iMessage or Dication features... They all abort

FaceTime: and iMessage seem to have a authentification error
Game Center hangs while "saving" settings
Dication - openes, then immediately stops (like siri when you try to use it on non 4S)

Any help with that? :(

Thanks :) :)



drking
Jul 28, 2012, 04:18 PM
Same problem here with both iMessage and FaceTime.

Dictation doesn't work for me either.
I've read on the apple forums where others are having problems getting dictation to work too. Mine worked one time (so at least I know it's capable of working), but hasn't worked since.

Hopefully someone can provide some help.

drking :)

drking
Jul 31, 2012, 07:31 PM
I found out with someone else's help that 1Password could be interfering with Dictation. After I disabled 1Password, Dictation now works as it should.


drking

drking
Aug 1, 2012, 02:36 AM
Disabling 1Password worked for awhile. But now Dictation is back to not working again. bummer :(

charlieegan3
Aug 1, 2012, 02:58 AM
Dictation isn't working for quite a few people.

Not sure whats going on with Messages though, check the details are correct in the preferences.

Dr.LectorII
Aug 1, 2012, 03:39 AM
Same problem with Messages, but noticed if I start Messages with wifi off (no internet connection) it works and when running switching on the wifi again.

A bit odd, but it makes me get on Messages!

drking
Aug 6, 2012, 11:57 AM
Update on Dictation:

I found two programs (for me personally anyway) that interfere with dictation and if either are running will not allow me to use dictation: 1Password and BackBlaze (a backup program).

I can quit 1Password, but if the the agent itself is still running in the background (noticed in the Activity Monitor), Dictation will not work.

Also see this post: http://forum.agilebits.com/index.php?/topic/10669-mountain-lion-dictation-not-working-when-1pw-is-running/

I also found I need to pause a backup program called Backblaze in order to use Dictation.

As long as neither of these programs are running dictation works fine.

Hope this helps someone else.

drking