PDA

View Full Version : No Airplay Mirroring ?




amitabhbansal
Jul 29, 2012, 04:00 AM
friends i have Macbook Pro 17inches which i bought in January 2011, 2.33Ghz Intel Core i5, 4GB 1067 MHz DDR3 configuration, now i have installed fresh mountain lion but i am not able to airplay mirroring, in System Preferences>Display there is SHOW MIRRORING OPTIONS IN THE MENU BAR WHEN AVAILABLE selected but i am unable to select apple tv. please help me
TThanks



Matthew Yohe
Jul 29, 2012, 04:03 AM
friends i have Macbook Pro 17inches which i bought in January 2011, 2.33Ghz Intel Core i5, 4GB 1067 MHz DDR3 configuration, now i have installed fresh mountain lion but i am not able to airplay mirroring, in System Preferences>Display there is SHOW MIRRORING OPTIONS IN THE MENU BAR WHEN AVAILABLE selected but i am unable to select apple tv. please help me
TThanks

Your model does not support AirPlay mirroring. It's a hardware limitation.

amitabhbansal
Jul 29, 2012, 04:04 AM
Your model does not support AirPlay mirroring. It's a hardware limitation.

then what should i do? and if the hardware issue then why its showing me display mirroring if available?

Matthew Yohe
Jul 29, 2012, 04:06 AM
then what should i do? and if the hardware issue then why its showing me display mirroring if available?

Yeah, that shouldn't display that message if your hardware does t support it. That's a bug.

SlCKB0Y
Jul 29, 2012, 04:07 AM
Your model does not support AirPlay mirroring. It's a hardware limitation.

EDIT: The original poster must have a 2010 model...


AirPlay Mirroring requires a second-generation Apple TV or later, and is supported on the following Mac models: iMac (Mid 2011 or newer), Mac mini (Mid 2011 or newer), MacBook Air (Mid 2011 or newer), and MacBook Pro (Early 2011 or newer).


http://www.apple.com/osx/whats-new/features.html

amitabhbansal
Jul 29, 2012, 04:07 AM
Yeah, that shouldn't display that message if your hardware does t support it. That's a bug.

is there any other option to do it? or should i wait till apple give any update?

Matthew Yohe
Jul 29, 2012, 04:13 AM
EDIT: The original poster must have a 2010 model...



http://www.apple.com/osx/whats-new/features.html

Yup, the OP stated the date that he purchased it.

So anyway, Apple will likely update and fix this bug, but you'll never have AirPlay support on your laptop.

CyBeRino
Jul 29, 2012, 04:27 AM
You can verify what mac you have in the system profiler utility. (About This Mac -> More info).

amitabhbansal
Jul 29, 2012, 05:24 AM
You can verify what mac you have in the system profiler utility. (About This Mac -> More info).

Ya its showing me 17-inch, Mid 2010 :( i have tried Airparrot too but its not so smooth, dont know what to do i am lost, i purchased apple tv 3 just for mirroring and now nothing is happening. Please help me if someone have the best solution.
Thanks

stuaz
Jul 29, 2012, 05:37 AM
The reason Air Parrot isn't smooth is down to the same reasons that Apple doesn't allow AirPlay on your version of the hardware. I believe its to do with the CPU not having the power or something like that.

Think you might have to stick with the classic "cable" to the TV instead.

CyBeRino
Jul 29, 2012, 05:42 AM
Ya its showing me 17-inch, Mid 2010 :( i have tried Airparrot too but its not so smooth, dont know what to do i am lost, i purchased apple tv 3 just for mirroring and now nothing is happening. Please help me if someone have the best solution.
Thanks

Return the Apple TV and get a DVI or HDMI cable.

amitabhbansal
Jul 29, 2012, 06:19 AM
Return the Apple TV and get a DVI or HDMI cable.

i also have a iMac 27inch, mid 2011, i can do airplay mirroring, but whenever i select apple tv 3, the Apple TV restarts continusly can anyone help?

stuaz
Jul 29, 2012, 07:08 AM
Have you made sure your Apple TV is up-to-date as well?

amitabhbansal
Jul 29, 2012, 07:09 AM
Have you made sure your Apple TV is up-to-date as well?

yes i checked it and its uptodate

stuaz
Jul 29, 2012, 07:12 AM
Do you have an iPad/iphone availble to see if you can use the Airplay features on them?

I would also suggest rebooting both devices and see if that helps.

If may also be having issues with the resolution possibly so if after a reboot doesn't help try lowering the resolution on your iMac before airplay?

musukosan
Jul 30, 2012, 12:58 AM
Ya its showing me 17-inch, Mid 2010 :( i have tried Airparrot too but its not so smooth, dont know what to do i am lost, i purchased apple tv 3 just for mirroring and now nothing is happening. Please help me if someone have the best solution.
Thanks

Did you try playing with the settings in AirParrot? At first, it wasn't smooth for me either but I maxed out the refresh rate and display quality. Now it's pretty damn smooth. I have a 2009 27" iMac, 2.8 i7. Obviously that might make a difference in your case, but interestingly, my CPU usage is around 6%. My computer hardly misses a beat. You might want to give it a shot, if you haven't already.

These results lead me to believe that no Airplay isn't necessarily a hardware issue...

amitabhbansal
Jul 30, 2012, 07:08 AM
Did you try playing with the settings in AirParrot? At first, it wasn't smooth for me either but I maxed out the refresh rate and display quality. Now it's pretty damn smooth. I have a 2009 27" iMac, 2.8 i7. Obviously that might make a difference in your case, but interestingly, my CPU usage is around 6%. My computer hardly misses a beat. You might want to give it a shot, if you haven't already.

These results lead me to believe that no Airplay isn't necessarily a hardware issue...

ya i tried airparrot on macbook pro 17" with trying different settings but no success, sometimes the video gets faster but audio is slow, and sometimes vice versa...i am very very angry with this situation :(

ramram55
Jul 30, 2012, 07:26 AM
Return the Apple TV and get a DVI or HDMI cable.
Yes, you said it all, the final solution is the cable connection, forget about airplay.

SnowLeopard2008
Jul 30, 2012, 07:32 AM
AirPlay mirroring relies on Intel QuickSync. Apple is not responsible for that. It's a hardware feature that is only present on Sandy Bridge models.

amitabhbansal
Jul 30, 2012, 07:35 AM
AirPlay mirroring relies on Intel QuickSync. Apple is not responsible for that. It's a hardware feature that is only present on Sandy Bridge models.

is there any addon like RAM or anything else by which i will enable this airplay?

Billywiz1307
Jul 30, 2012, 07:46 AM
Your two year old 17" Macbook is now obsolete (in Apple's eyes at least).
If you want and or need Airplay, go out and buy a brand new Macbook Pro, then it will work. Alternatively, buy an iPad, that can do it.

Welcome to Apple, where hardware becomes obsolete even before it gets old :)

pdjudd
Jul 30, 2012, 07:59 AM
is there any addon like RAM or anything else by which i will enable this airplay?
No - it is not based on RAM. It's based on hardware that is part of the processor. There is nothing you can add to make it work. Your computer either supports it or doesn't.

stuaz
Jul 30, 2012, 08:01 AM
is there any addon like RAM or anything else by which i will enable this airplay?

Unless you can put a new processor in your laptop (which you can't) then there is NO WAY to enable airplay...Ram or hardrive, or a new screen, or a furry dice won't help....

Use a cable (It would be better quality anyway).