PDA

View Full Version : Time Machine has reset since upgrade - 'Oldest Backup - None' ????




BadboyHouse
Jul 29, 2012, 05:02 AM
Just come to do my first Time Machine backup since upgrading to ML.

Connected my drive as normal, opened Time Machine which shows the drive, but next to Oldest Backup and Latest Backup it says NONE.

Why is this?

What about all of my previous backups?



erpetao
Jul 29, 2012, 05:05 AM
I got that the first time as well. Let it finish (takes ages, the first one), and then it will be back to normal.

Benbikeman
Jul 29, 2012, 05:47 AM
This happens to me when I upgraded from Snow Leopard to Lion. The solution was simply to switch Time Machine off and on again, and to reselect the Time Machine drive.

BadboyHouse
Jul 29, 2012, 11:17 AM
I disconnected and reconnected a couple of times. Came back as normal afterwards.

Big 9gb backup the first one.

Doth
Jul 29, 2012, 10:28 PM
My first backup is 20 gigs! It is taking forever! I am glad I read this thread or I would have been nervous.

Don

fins831
Jul 29, 2012, 10:53 PM
I backed up my iMac and MBP after going from SL-> ML and one was 48gigs and the other was 75gigs...

I lost my old backups so I reformatted and saved it again...long as both hard drives didn't crash in the 45 minutes it took to backup....I took a risk, haha

steve-p
Jul 30, 2012, 03:17 AM
I'm getting this every time with ML, not just on the first backup. There are a years worth of TM backups on the drive but it always says "oldest backup - none" until after completing a backup, then it displays correctly. I only plug the drive in every couple of days to do a backup, but every time it's the same issue.

xav8tor
Jul 30, 2012, 08:48 AM
Known issue. Apple is working on a fix.

colcat
Jan 22, 2013, 12:18 PM
Known issue. Apple is working on a fix.

Hi

I'm running 10.7.5

I tried to back up to my TM and it was taking forever - had done about 106k after about 10 minutes. It had successfully backed up about a week ago. I stopped the backup then tried just switching TM Off then back On again. When I switched it back on I saw it wanted to do a backup in 240 seconds and also it said Oldest Backup: None, Latest Backup: None

Wow :mad: All I did was disable and re-enable it

However, I had restored my system from a TM backup about 3 days before. It seemed to be running fine. The disk has 30 backup folders dating back to Dec 2011. There is 633Gb available. I've tried rebooting, unplugging, Disk Utility/verify disk - unable to check permissions - greyed out. I have R/W to the volume but only System has access to the folders

I found a link to a really good site (pondini.org/TM/Troubleshooting.html) which shows how to 'inherit' a TM backup collection but it's a bit UNIXy and I don't want to go too far down that road if there is an easier solution. Also, it has no scenarios which totally match mine (although I guess that it is effectively thinking it is now connected to a different system disk somehow?)

Anyone got any ideas?
Cheers
Colin

xav8tor
Jan 30, 2013, 12:25 PM
Hi

I'm running 10.7.5

I tried to back up to my TM and it was taking forever - had done about 106k after about 10 minutes. It had successfully backed up about a week ago. I stopped the backup then tried just switching TM Off then back On again. When I switched it back on I saw it wanted to do a backup in 240 seconds and also it said Oldest Backup: None, Latest Backup: None

Wow :mad: All I did was disable and re-enable it

However, I had restored my system from a TM backup about 3 days before. It seemed to be running fine. The disk has 30 backup folders dating back to Dec 2011. There is 633Gb available. I've tried rebooting, unplugging, Disk Utility/verify disk - unable to check permissions - greyed out. I have R/W to the volume but only System has access to the folders

I found a link to a really good site (pondini.org/TM/Troubleshooting.html) which shows how to 'inherit' a TM backup collection but it's a bit UNIXy and I don't want to go too far down that road if there is an easier solution. Also, it has no scenarios which totally match mine (although I guess that it is effectively thinking it is now connected to a different system disk somehow?)

Anyone got any ideas?
Cheers
Colin

I was referring to Mountain Lion (10.8), but I doubt your issue was simply because you temporarily disabled TM. I've done that many times with no problem at all on four different Macs running from 10.6 thru 10.8.