Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JeffHendr

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 10, 2002
Independence, MO
Does anyone know when a Mac compatible 802.11a wireless notebook card will be available? I'm a student at the Air Force Academy, and our wireless network has recently been switched from 802.11b to 802.11a in order to decrease its physical range for security reasons (People off base were accessing the network by placing their wireless antennas inside Pringles cans.) My new 1 GHz Powerbook's AirPort card is worthless to me unless I want to set up an AirPort base station here in the dorms (does me no good in the library or in class).

BenderBot1138

macrumors 6502
Oct 28, 2002
a b c d e f g....

I'm kinda surprised the US Airforce switched to version "a"... They could have just dumped all their PC's and "Switched" to Apple and Presto... no more problem... anyone who wants to listen can feel free, while the Airforce can feel secure.

P.S. ... did the Airforce say you could release its hardware specs Cadet?

dricci

macrumors 6502a
Dec 15, 2001
switched from 802.11b to 802.11a in order to decrease its physical range

I hope they know 802.11a has a larger range than 802.11b :p

As long as they have proper security in place (like seperating the 'internal spy documents' server from the 'everyone can access' servers), there should be nothing to worry about. a and b are both insecure, just in different ways.

peterjhill

macrumors 65816
Apr 25, 2002
Seattle, WA
Intel, Cisco, and Proxim, their cards do not work with a Mac. I wish at least one of them did, they are the three that we are testing at work, but their client cards do not yet have drivers.

802.11b operates in the 2.4 GHz range and 802.11a operates in the 5 GHz range. 802.11b uses Direct Sequence Spread Spectrum, while 11a uses Orthagonal Frequency Division Multiplexing. So, no, they are not compatible in the least.