PDA

View Full Version : ipod has harddrive question




starstreak
Aug 2, 2005, 01:05 PM
I have the 60gig ipod photo(or whatever they are calling the newest model)

WHen I first connected it, It would come up as a harddrive in my windows. I did not have the thing in itunes "use as harddrive" checked. I could copy files over and even unplug the ipod without first undocking it.
Today when I plugged in my ipod it loaded up itunes synced and disconnected. I saw the harddrive show up in my windows list, but then it dissapeared. The only way I can keep it from going away is by adding the checkmark "use as harddrive" in itunes. Is something wrong, or am I really supposed to have that checked?



kgarner
Aug 2, 2005, 01:42 PM
If you want to use it as a hard dirve, then you have to keep that option checked. It probably allowed you to do it that first time because it hadn't been paired with iTunes yet.

starstreak
Aug 2, 2005, 02:16 PM
what about if I want to use this ipod on another computer? say a work computer without itunes. how will it work if there is no itunes?

And is it still ok to unplug the unit without first undocking it as long as I have no data being transfered?

TDM21
Aug 2, 2005, 02:34 PM
Your computer at work will see it as a regular hard drive. (I don't remember if need any drivers are needed) It is also a good idea to unmout your iPod before disconnecting it. Better to be safe then sorry.

starstreak
Aug 3, 2005, 01:52 AM
Ok, but on the main computer at least, as long as this is the computer doing teh itunes syncing, I have to make sure the Harddrive box is checked?