Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mitoman212

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 2, 2011
Hello Audiophiles,

I was gifted two Westlake Audio studio monitors and want to set them up with my Mac pro. I'm looking for a Hi Fi stero amp that will run these two speakers with a digital input.

I'm new to this so any advise is welcome.

Thanks!

Plumbstone

macrumors regular
Feb 6, 2007
Which model are they? Also do you have a soundcard for the Mac Pro?

Also what will you be using them for? Are you just listening to music or are you recording/mixing racks? If the latter you probably want to go for a studio amp.

And finally what's your budget?

mitoman212

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 2, 2011
[/COLOR]
Which model are they? Also do you have a soundcard for the Mac Pro?

Also what will you be using them for? Are you just listening to music or are you recording/mixing racks? If the latter you probably want to go for a studio amp.

And finally what's your budget?

Well this isn't anything professional, It’s mainly for listing to music. I’ve had them sitting around for awhile and just wanted to get them up and running on something that can put them to good use; as I’ve heard they are very good speakers. I don't have a sound card but once I get them running with an Amp I'd be intrested in one.

They are Westlake BBSM-6 series 1, the original before the refresh. I had to replace the midrange due to the suspension being rotted. However I couldn’t afford the $250 each for the stock driver so I put in a replacement. Not sure if there is a better option the midrange didn’t really fit the box but it sounds better than the old one. My budget is pretty low but I am interested in it so will be setting money aside as I can.

Thanks for the quick reply!

SteppingStone

macrumors member
Aug 6, 2012
Something like this:

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=310-312