Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ArtOfWarfare

macrumors G3
Original poster
Nov 26, 2007
This is the first time I've tried writing an iOS app in... 8 months... and the first time I've tried using a SplitViewController ever. Anyways, here's what I want:

A settings menu that goes through a two-pane hierarchy, with minimal coding involved. I figure Storyboards will be great for that.

I have a MasterViewController, which is a UITableView subclass. Here's the significant code for it:

Code:
// In the header I make NSArray* categories; an ivar.

- (id)initWithCoder:(NSCoder *)aDecoder {
    self = [super initWithCoder:aDecoder];
    if (self) {
        categories = [NSArray arrayWithObjects:@"General", @"Personalize", @"Data Collection", @"Graph", @"About", nil];
    }
    return self;
}

- (NSInteger)numberOfSectionsInTableView:(UITableView *)tableView
{
    return 1;
}

- (NSInteger)tableView:(UITableView *)tableView numberOfRowsInSection:(NSInteger)section
{
    return [categories count];
}

- (UITableViewCell *)tableView:(UITableView *)tableView cellForRowAtIndexPath:(NSIndexPath *)indexPath
{
    UITableViewCell *cell = [tableView dequeueReusableCellWithIdentifier:@"Category"];
    if (cell == nil) cell = [[UITableViewCell alloc] initWithStyle:UITableViewCellStyleDefault reuseIdentifier:@"Category"];
    cell.textLabel.text = [categories objectAtIndex:indexPath.row];

return cell;
}

- (NSString*)tableView:(UITableView *)tableView titleForHeaderInSection:(NSInteger)section {
    return @"Settings";
}

- (void)tableView:(UITableView *)tableView didSelectRowAtIndexPath:(NSIndexPath *)indexPath
{
    UIViewController* newViewController = [self.storyboard instantiateViewControllerWithIdentifier:[categories objectAtIndex:indexPath.row]];
    [b]UINavigationController* navController = [self.splitViewController.viewControllers lastObject];