Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ides

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 27, 2012
Hi, I'm new to archiving objects but I'd like to learn how to archive a custom UIView subclass that I have. From my understanding, and the research I've done so far, UIView already implements the NSCoding protocol. Would I use the method encodeWithEncoder:? If so, would I also have to call that on each of my instance variables that my UIView subclass has? Some of the subviews in my view are also custom UIViews, so I would probably have to encode those too, right? Thanks for any help!

Ides

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 27, 2012
I have a sudoku app and I'd like to archive my view so that when the user renters the app after quitting, the sudoku puzzle is still there. I have a UIView subclass called SudokuTable, and the sudoku table has 81 subviews (9x9) of SudokuCell, another UIView subclass. Each SudokuCell has a textfield for entering in numbers and 9 UILabels for displaying candidates, along with some other instance variables for keeping track of data. I feel like it would nice to be able to simply encode all of this together and then pull it back out when I need it.

Duncan C

macrumors 6502a
Jan 21, 2008
Northern Virginia
Don't archive views!

I have a sudoku app and I'd like to archive my view so that when the user renters the app after quitting, the sudoku puzzle is still there. I have a UIView subclass called SudokuTable, and the sudoku table has 81 subviews (9x9) of SudokuCell, another UIView subclass. Each SudokuCell has a textfield for entering in numbers and 9 UILabels for displaying candidates, along with some other instance variables for keeping track of data. I feel like it would nice to be able to simply encode all of this together and then pull it back out when I need it.

Don't archive your views. That is a path to spaghetti-code.