PDA

View Full Version : Airparrot failed connecting




elpmas
Aug 11, 2012, 04:10 PM
Just a question for those that are familiar with AP+ATV3. I'm currently using '10 13" mbp with ML and AP is failing to connect to my atv3. It will sometimes connect but lag a whole lot then disconnect. I'm not sure if it's my ISP or the machine not being able to run AP well with the atv.

Will appreciate your experience/expertise. Thanks!



mic j
Aug 11, 2012, 04:39 PM
Just a question for those that are familiar with AP+ATV3. I'm currently using '10 13" mbp with ML and AP is failing to connect to my atv3. It will sometimes connect but lag a whole lot then disconnect. I'm not sure if it's my ISP or the machine not being able to run AP well with the atv.

Will appreciate your experience/expertise. Thanks!
I suspect your wifi as my 09 MBP will run AirParrot just fine, laggy, juddery, but other than that...just fine. Give it as much CPU as you can, might even want to try using ethernet to the router as a diagnostic to see if the problem occurs when hardwired. Is your aTV in the vicinity of the router/MBP?

waw74
Aug 11, 2012, 06:15 PM
your ISP has nothing to do with it, the traffic should never leave your network, if everything is configured correctly.

try rebooting your router, sometimes they don't play well with airplay.

elpmas
Aug 12, 2012, 02:53 AM
I suspect your wifi as my 09 MBP will run AirParrot just fine, laggy, juddery, but other than that...just fine. Give it as much CPU as you can, might even want to try using ethernet to the router as a diagnostic to see if the problem occurs when hardwired. Is your aTV in the vicinity of the router/MBP?

I've tried a direct line from the internet box directly to atv3 and it still lags. I'm about ~8ft from the router+atv3. I've tried it with only me using the net and it's still laggy and loses connection. Just a headache to do mirroring lol.

----------

your ISP has nothing to do with it, the traffic should never leave your network, if everything is configured correctly.

try rebooting your router, sometimes they don't play well with airplay.

I've tried restarting the box and atv3, it is still laggy. The only reason why I'm wondering if it's the ISP connection is because it sometimes drops and seems really slow regardless of me rebooting the box or not.

mic j
Aug 12, 2012, 08:46 AM
I've tried a direct line from the internet box directly to atv3 and it still lags. I'm about ~8ft from the router+atv3. I've tried it with only me using the net and it's still laggy and loses connection. Just a headache to do mirroring lol.

----------



I've tried restarting the box and atv3, it is still laggy. The only reason why I'm wondering if it's the ISP connection is because it sometimes drops and seems really slow regardless of me rebooting the box or not.

It's all local so your ISP connection has nothing to do with it. I experienced the lag as well and it is one of the reasons I have been critical of the product. However, I have not had a problem with a loss of connection. It could be from your computer to your router. The on-the-fly transcoding is CPU intensive and it's pumping out a lot of info to the router. It just may be that your computer/router/aTV system can't handle it.

elpmas
Aug 12, 2012, 02:56 PM
It's all local so your ISP connection has nothing to do with it. I experienced the lag as well and it is one of the reasons I have been critical of the product. However, I have not had a problem with a loss of connection. It could be from your computer to your router. The on-the-fly transcoding is CPU intensive and it's pumping out a lot of info to the router. It just may be that your computer/router/aTV system can't handle it.

My guess is the router/comp, but i haven't seen many people saying the '10 13" models are dropping connection/lag much though x_x

mic j
Aug 12, 2012, 03:39 PM
My guess is the router/comp, but i haven't seen many people saying the '10 13" models are dropping connection/lag much though x_x
I assume the 2010 mac is multi-core, not duo core, right? Multi-core Macs play nicer with AirParrot, from a lag/judder standpoint. If that is the case, I would focus on the wifi network. Look at your S/N and transmission rate by doing a option-click on the wifi symbol on the top bar of your screen. S/N of 25 is moderate. Also, if you have dual band router, check to see if you are transmitting over n or g and 5 or 2.5GHz.

elpmas
Aug 12, 2012, 07:37 PM
I assume the 2010 mac is multi-core, not duo core, right? Multi-core Macs play nicer with AirParrot, from a lag/judder standpoint. If that is the case, I would focus on the wifi network. Look at your S/N and transmission rate by doing a option-click on the wifi symbol on the top bar of your screen. S/N of 25 is moderate. Also, if you have dual band router, check to see if you are transmitting over n or g and 5 or 2.5GHz.

I'm using a c2d :/...and the box is at a 2.5ghz, it's standard issue through the isp. I don't think it's a dual band router :/. I will probably try with a '12 model when I get the chance to see if it's my laptop or the router.

Prime85
Aug 12, 2012, 08:04 PM
I'm using a c2d :/...and the box is at a 2.5ghz, it's standard issue through the isp. I don't think it's a dual band router :/. I will probably try with a '12 model when I get the chance to see if it's my laptop or the router.

Sounds like its your router. I had air parrot running on my 2011 with no lag which i know its a different year but a 2010 should be able to run it as well. is your router a wirelessN router?

Try hooking both computer and appleTV up to ethernet and see if that fixes the lag. If it does then it is the router and not your computer.

elpmas
Aug 13, 2012, 04:41 AM
Sounds like its your router. I had air parrot running on my 2011 with no lag which i know its a different year but a 2010 should be able to run it as well. is your router a wirelessN router?

Try hooking both computer and appleTV up to ethernet and see if that fixes the lag. If it does then it is the router and not your computer.

I have tried ethernet to atv but not simultaneously with the laptop. Unfortunately, the router is a b/g...big disappointment lol.

mic j
Aug 13, 2012, 08:13 AM
I have tried ethernet to atv but not simultaneously with the laptop. Unfortunately, the router is a b/g...big disappointment lol.

Well, that may be it. Other's are free to correct me, but I think b/g will probably not be able to handle large files, without hiccups.

elpmas
Aug 13, 2012, 03:50 PM
Well, that may be it. Other's are free to correct me, but I think b/g will probably not be able to handle large files, without hiccups.

I just tried it with my '11 iMac. Works fine on the iMac with little lag on the atv. My guess is the router...how unfortunate :(

mic j
Aug 13, 2012, 04:25 PM
I just tried it with my '11 iMac. Works fine on the iMac with little lag on the atv. My guess is the router...how unfortunate :(

Not sure I understand. If it works better with your iMac why would you think it's the router? Is your iMac hardwired to the router?

elpmas
Aug 13, 2012, 08:06 PM
Not sure I understand. If it works better with your iMac why would you think it's the router? Is your iMac hardwired to the router?

the imac isn't directly hardwired, the imac has more cores so i believe it was able to mirror to the atv3 better, but since the router is a b/g, it has some lag. so my conclusion to the problem is due to the router being b/g, it is not able to handle the required amount of networking coming from the imac to the atv3. but when it comes to my laptop, the laptop is to blame. :S