Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

harrisonw1998

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 18, 2011
Hi,

I'm a developer and have a friend who isn't. He downloaded iOS 6 from one of those websites where you pay $10 and give them your UDID, I keep telling him it's illegal and he won't believe me. Do you agree with me? No NDA, not from his own Dev account.......

Thanks!

jav6454

macrumors Core
Nov 14, 2007
1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
It is not illegal. It is just against the Terms of Agreement between the original developer and Apple. What will happen is that Apple will nix the developer license of the guy who sold it to him and his iPhone will be rendered useless until iPhone OS 6.0.0 comes out.

JS82712

macrumors 6502a
Jul 1, 2009
Hi,

I'm a developer and have a friend who isn't. He downloaded iOS 6 from one of those websites where you pay $10 and give them your UDID, I keep telling him it's illegal and he won't believe me. Do you agree with me? No NDA, not from his own Dev account.......

Thanks!

and what are you gonna do about it? call the police? lol. :rolleyes:

harrisonw1998

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 18, 2011
No, he keeps complaining to me it's not stable, safari keeps crashing etc. He keeps acting like it's a stable public release.

el3ktro

macrumors regular
Aug 17, 2008

Tell your friend he's an idiot for paying $10 for something that you can have for free. You don't need to register your devices UDID with Apple anymore to run the betas. He could have just downloaded the IOS beta somewhere and installed it right away.

batting1000

macrumors 604
Sep 4, 2011
Florida
Tell your friend he's an idiot for paying $10 for something that you can have for free. You don't need to register your devices UDID with Apple anymore to run the betas. He could have just downloaded the IOS beta somewhere and installed it right away.