PDA

View Full Version : what is expose?




LeeM
Aug 12, 2012, 05:53 PM
how is it meant to work? it just brings the top app to the centre of the screen and darkens the background, is that all its meant to do?



Ddyracer
Aug 12, 2012, 06:23 PM
how is it meant to work? it just brings the top app to the centre of the screen and darkens the background, is that all its meant to do?

cultofmac's definition (http://www.cultofmac.com/64432/100-tips-35-what-is-expose/)

http://cultofmac.cultofmaccom.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/20101005-expose.jpg

LeeM
Aug 12, 2012, 06:47 PM
when i press f3 i get mission control, if i do 3 finger swipe down it just does this;
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y273/leeemaddison/ScreenShot2012-08-13at004210.png

Ddyracer
Aug 12, 2012, 06:50 PM
when i press f3 i get mission control, if i do 3 finger swipe down it just does this;
Image (http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y273/leeemaddison/ScreenShot2012-08-13at004210.png)

It just brings up the trackpad menu?

LeeM
Aug 12, 2012, 06:52 PM
whys it still listed as an option and let me assign it a gesture?

Ddyracer
Aug 12, 2012, 06:56 PM
whys it still listed as an option and let me assign it a gesture?

Oh, perhaps apple hasn't got around to getting rid of it. Can you get expose up with the gesture?

tarryweather
Aug 12, 2012, 08:03 PM
Exposť shows all the windows of the app. When you use it with only one window open, it's pretty pointless, as you've seen. But when you have more than one window open for a certain app, it's really useful. Trying opening up a few Safari windows and then using it.

Icy1007
Aug 12, 2012, 08:03 PM
whys it still listed as an option and let me assign it a gesture?

That is app Expose. It shows all open windows for the selected app.

ie. If you had safari open with 20 windows, all 20 windows would appear in a grid with app expose.

Old expose was that but for all windows. Regardless of app.

LeeM
Aug 13, 2012, 01:57 AM
oh i get it now ive just tried it with 2 chrome windows, seems a bit pointless to limit it to one app. i had more than one open in my screenshot above, seems more useful to show all apps like it used to as thats a far more likely scenario to be in

richard.mac
Aug 13, 2012, 02:03 AM
When you invoke Mission Control and have the grouping of windows disabled in Mission Control's preferences, the way the windows disperse is pretty much all windows Exposť.

baryon
Aug 13, 2012, 12:27 PM
Exposť no longer exists since Lion. It has been replaced by Mission Control, which tries to do something like Exposť, Spaces and Dashboard at the same time and fails spectacularly at it. Mission Control might as well grate cheese and download every Spice Girls album while it's at it, it would make as much sense.