Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Nosrettap

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 22, 2010
I am a small business owner and I'd like for someone to tell me if Apple would approve the following app and if so, would they take their 30% cut from my profits. Here's a quick breakdown of the app:

~ My business works with local restaurants to provide a way for individuals to order food online rather than having to wait in line at the store. For example, currently a person can go to our website, fill out a form and place an order for a bowl of soup or a salad from one of the local vendors.

~ NO credit card details are transferred online, only contact details (name, address...etc) and the in-app purchase system would NOT be used. In fact payment of any sort is not used at the time of purchase, rather the food is payed for in person when it picked up in person. In fact, on the back-end, all that the app would do is send an e-mail to to the restaurant with the person's order.

~ The app would be free on the app store.

Would an app like this be allowed on the app store? (I'm not sure why it wouldn't, but I'd like for someone to tell me what they think) If so, would Apple take a 30% cut from sales (keeping in mind no credit card details are transferred)? Would it matter if it's a web app (merely a UIWebView) or if I actually write an objective-c app? Thanks

Suspended
May 1, 2010
California
Several have posted about apps that might be better as websites. This one actually sounds like it might be better as a website. One thing about a website is that you can update it quickly without having to go thru an approval process.

One question you might ask: "what's the difference between the app and a website?" Are you doing something different in the app that wouldn't be done in a website.