Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SnifferUK

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 11, 2010
I am a relative newbie on OSX (only been using is since Lion - now upgraded to ML) and have been struggling with a problem for a little while.

I have a number of network devices (some Windows machines and some NAS boxes) which my Mac connects to on a regular basis. I have OSX configured to mount network drives when it logs in, which is fine.

However, if a network drive location disappears (or is not available on login) is there a way for OSX to dynamically (automatically?) re-mount the drive when it reappears similar to how Windows appears to do it ?

My main role for one of my Mac Minis is as a Plex Server and as some of my network devices are not always powered on I want to be able to power them on and off (whilst my Mac Mini is always on) and have my Mac look for the location and mount it if it is available.

I hope I've made my problem clear - any help greatly appreciated.

switon

macrumors 6502a
Sep 10, 2012
RE: automount, automountd, autofs, autofsd, ...

Hi,