PDA

View Full Version : Developers: Is a DVD / VIDEO_TS / VOB player really out of the question?

NameUndecided
Aug 17, 2012, 07:51 PM
I've wanted this for so long. I'm not a programmer. I simply don't have enough interest in learning the process and language. But I have to ask…

Is it absolutely not in the realm of possibility to create an app for iOS that could play a DVD's file structure?

There are apps that [seem to] play every other file type that you could store directly on your iOS device.

There are apps like AirVideo that allow you to play/stream any file type that's stored on your computer.

Could there not be an app that does just what AirVideo does, but with a VIDEO_TS file that's stored on your computer's hard drive? An app that would read the file structure like any DVD player program on your computer might?

I use AirVideo a lot. I mirror to my Apple TV very often. The ability to do this with DVDs that I have ripped to my hard drive, complete with menu structure and that, would be tremendous. I know that AirVideo can play the individual VOB files inside of the DVD's folder, but you have to select each part individually and there is no menu option. It's almost there, but just not quite good enough.

I've wondered about this off and on too often. I just had to finally come out and ask in a community of people who would actually know, or maybe even perhaps be able to create such a thing.

Yes…? Useful app idea? Worthwhile opportunity for profit making?

xArtx
Aug 18, 2012, 03:51 AM
I don't claim to know the answer with respect to the specific platform,
but I'll take some guesses...
The MPEG2 codec used for DVD is likely not a native supported codec,
which likely means a lot of work for a programmer to implement from scratch themselves.

When some video intro is played in a game, the game author wrote the
media player at a very high level, simply a matter of having the game
program ask the iphone politely to please play this supported video clip.