PDA

View Full Version : Older ACD vs. New LG IPS




papoopeepoo
Aug 17, 2012, 11:40 PM
Ok ok ok, so this isn't exactly a post about PPC computers, but it is about a screen from the PPC era. I need opinions, I'm stuck.

A household mac mini G4 is about to be donated to a loved-one. This G4 is paired with the first aluminum ACD (20"). I just love the design and screen of this display, it's classic and matches my Mac Pro perfectly. I don't care about the unsupported FW400 connectivity.

Currently, my MP is attached to an LG IPS236 with LED backlighting (23"). The image quality is certainly bright and clear, but not as color accurate as the 6-year-old ACD.

If it were up to you, would you trade the new monitor for the older, smaller classic ACD, or keep the newer screen and save for a new ACD?

Thanks!



Nyy8
Aug 17, 2012, 11:46 PM
Couldn't you just give it to the loved one without a display :D and use both on your mac pro?

LeoTheLion89
Aug 17, 2012, 11:46 PM
Ok ok ok, so this isn't exactly a post about PPC computers, but it is about a screen from the PPC era. I need opinions, I'm stuck.

A household mac mini G4 is about to be donated to a loved-one. This G4 is paired with the first aluminum ACD (20"). I just love the design and screen of this display, it's classic and matches my Mac Pro perfectly. I don't care about the unsupported FW400 connectivity.

Currently, my MP is attached to an LG IPS236 with LED backlighting (23"). The image quality is certainly bright and clear, but not as color accurate as the 6-year-old ACD.

If it were up to you, would you trade the new monitor for the older, smaller classic ACD, or keep the newer screen and save for a new ACD?

Thanks!

If the apple monitor seems better quality i would take that. You can buy a ADC-DVI adaptor as well as a FW400 to 800 adaptor

papoopeepoo
Aug 17, 2012, 11:53 PM
Couldn't you just give it to the loved one without a display :D and use both on your mac pro?

This is an idea, but the dissymmetry might mess with me a little too much. :D

If the apple monitor seems better quality i would take that. You can buy a ADC-DVI adaptor as well as a FW400 to 800 adaptor

I have the display port to DVI connector, but it isn't really necessary when running one monitor on this HD4870. The FW adaptor makes the idea of the ACD a little more sweet.

jbarley
Aug 17, 2012, 11:57 PM
If the apple monitor seems better quality i would take that. You can buy a ADC-DVI adaptor as well as a FW400 to 800 adaptor

Yes you can, and like a good wine they're not getting any cheaper.
Link (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000067VKT/ref=asc_df_B000067VKT2141323/?tag=prontocom92595-20&creative=394997&creativeASIN=B000067VKT&linkCode=asn)

LeoTheLion89
Aug 18, 2012, 12:01 AM
Yes you can, and like a good wine they're not getting any cheaper.
Link (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000067VKT/ref=asc_df_B000067VKT2141323/?tag=prontocom92595-20&creative=394997&creativeASIN=B000067VKT&linkCode=asn)

actually here (http://www.ebay.com/itm/Belkin-ADC-to-DVI-ADC30M-DVI24F-T2774G-A-F2E9142-WHT-APL-Apple-Monitor-Adapter-/260936608424?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3cc108aaa8#ht_3078wt_1141) is a link to a rather cheap adaptor as well as a link here (http://www.ebay.com/itm/400-TO-800-FIREWIRE-ADAPTER-9-6-PIN-APPLE-NEW-/320677111091?pt=US_FireWire_Cables_Adapters&hash=item4aa9d86533#ht_3617wt_1190) for a FW400 to FW800 adaptor

papoopeepoo
Aug 18, 2012, 12:05 AM
Am I missing something? This ACD has a normal DVI termination. No adaptor is needed to attach it to the MP as-is.

Wasn't it the plastic cased ACDs that needed that adaptor?

jbarley
Aug 18, 2012, 12:19 AM
Am I missing something? This ACD has a normal DVI termination. No adaptor is needed to attach it to the MP as-is.

Wasn't it the plastic cased ACDs that needed that adaptor?

Correct, the acrylic monitors had no power supply built in and received their power from a video card with the ADC output connection.
Hence the need for the expensive adapter with the power supply if you wanted to connect it to a video card via DVI.
The cheaper adapter mentioned above is for connecting an ADC video card to a DVI monitor, and will not work in reverse.

LeoTheLion89
Aug 18, 2012, 12:43 AM
Am I missing something? This ACD has a normal DVI termination. No adaptor is needed to attach it to the MP as-is.

Wasn't it the plastic cased ACDs that needed that adaptor?

oh my bad i got it mixed up i thought u were refering to a ADC (Apple Display Connector) Monitor not a ACD (Apple Cinema Display) Monitor sorry about that. But the second link i provided will work for the firewire. i know nothing about ACDs as far as i know no cables are removable but if the FireWire cable detatchs from the monitor then you can use a FW400 FW800 cable instead

Intell
Aug 18, 2012, 01:40 AM
I would like to point out that these two adapters cannot do the same thing. If the OP's monitor was one of the acrylic Apple Studio Displays, he would need the one in jbarley's post. The one in LeoTheLion89's post is for connecting a DVI display to a PowerMac's Apple Display Connector's port to utilize its DVI signal. It cannot turn a Studio Display into a DVI capable display.

Yes you can, and like a good wine they're not getting any cheaper.
Link (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000067VKT/ref=asc_df_B000067VKT2141323/?tag=prontocom92595-20&creative=394997&creativeASIN=B000067VKT&linkCode=asn)

actually here (http://www.ebay.com/itm/Belkin-ADC-to-DVI-ADC30M-DVI24F-T2774G-A-F2E9142-WHT-APL-Apple-Monitor-Adapter-/260936608424?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3cc108aaa8#ht_3078wt_1141)

To the OP: I've found that some of Apple's older displays do give a very good picture quality. Mainly the 20" and 23" acrylic displays, the 20" G4 iMac, and the 20", 23", and 30" Cinema Displays. Their 22" acrylic display is sometimes questionable. They're the oldest of the acrylic bunch and often had slightly poorer quality displays due to the limits of technology at the time.