Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

yklxcq

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 22, 2005
And what is the good and not good of these two softwares.
thx IN ADVANCE :)

CanadaRAM

macrumors G5
I'm driving to California - should I get a Ford or a Chevy?

Both will do the job, each has its fans, and an active online forum community. Both are (incidentally) owned by Adobe, so the smart money is on one of them getting discontinued or sold off a la FreeHand.

Dreamweaver has the larger installed base, so it is likely to be the long term survivor.

I used GoLive until I got fed up with it corrupting its own site files all the time and crashing without provocation (so I have no experience with it beyond ver.3, newer versions may be more stable). Switched to Dreamweaver, which is none to stable itself, and has issues with text editing and slow table updating.

Partially, its more to do with your personal preferences. See if you can get some time on a computer with one or both of the programs. If you are considering getting the Adobe Creative Suite Premium with Photoshop Indesign, Acrobat and Illustrator, you will get GoLive thrown in "free".

dornoforpyros

macrumors 68040
Oct 19, 2004
Calgary, AB
dreamweaver period.

go live is JUNK in my opion. <font color="#666666">b</font><font color="#666666">ecause</font><font color="#666666">it does things</font><font color="#666666">like this</font>

granted if the person doing pages like that was an idiot but I still spent hours fixing it.

MisterMe

macrumors G4
Jul 17, 2002
USA
yklxcq said:
i am going to build my own website, which one should i use?
Any comment is appreciate:)
cheers