PDA

View Full Version : DNS issue




jackhdev
Aug 27, 2012, 02:29 PM
I'm running DNS on a Snow Leopard server and I'm able to link an IP address to any subdomain in a zone (www.example.com, server.example.com), but how can I assign an IP address to just example.com?

My other DNS provider lets me put a @ to represent example.com but SL server only allows numbers, letters, and a hyphen. It also doesn't let me create an A record with a blank name. What should I do?

----------

Solution:

Let's say the zone was example.com. The solution was pretty simple; I just added an A record with example.com. as the FQDN, added an IP and it worked fine.



mwhities
Aug 27, 2012, 02:35 PM
Total noob here but, I'll try.

On my MLS MacMini, I just added Host (example.com) and gave it an IP. Then added another Host (test.example.com) with a different IP and it accepted both. Is that an option in SLS?

jackhdev
Aug 27, 2012, 03:02 PM
Total noob here but, I'll try.

On my MLS MacMini, I just added Host (example.com) and gave it an IP. Then added another Host (test.example.com) with a different IP and it accepted both. Is that an option in SLS?

I haven't used MLS yet so I can't visualize exactly what you're doing, but I think we're doing the same thing (solution above). I create a zone named example.com and added an A record with name example.com. (the trailing dot makes it a fully qualified domain name and it worked).

mwhities
Aug 27, 2012, 03:11 PM
Ahh, I'm not sure. I'm still new to the Mac world, let alone the server side. I know the servers side in Unix/Linux/Windows and how everything works, just not with OSX.