PDA

View Full Version : Compressor Error: Unable to Connect to Background Process


MacBytes
Aug 10, 2005, 11:18 AM
http://www.macbytes.com/images/bytessig.gif (http://www.macbytes.com)

Category: Tips and How To's
Link: Compressor Error: Unable to Connect to Background Process (http://www.macbytes.com/link.php?sid=20050810111852)

Posted on MacBytes.com (http://www.macbytes.com)
Approved by Mudbug

Lacero
Aug 10, 2005, 11:22 AM
Even though Compressor 2 sucks balls when it comes to speed and MPEG2 encoding quality, I'll have to say C2 has THE BEST de-interlacer AND THE BEST 60i to 24P conversion utility on Mac or PC.

jagatai
Aug 11, 2005, 12:02 PM
Be very careful doing this. This may render your computer completely unuseable.

I don't know if I did something wrong when trying this procedure, but I ended up with a computer that would only boot to a command line in read only mode. This meant I couldn't even fix the problem despite knowing my way around UNIX.

I did get the system working by connecting my laptop to another Mac and booting in target mode by holding down the T key while turning on the power.

I was then able to open the UNIX terminal in the remote computer and enter the etc directory on the compromised computer. This can be done by issuing the command "cd /Volumes/Macintosh HD/etc" Depending upon the name of the compromised computer's hard drive, you may have to type a different path. Alternatively you may be able to use the finder command under GO>Go to Folder and then type in the appropriate path. In any case, the remote computer will be under "Volumes"

After entering the etc directory in the terminal, I was able to issue the command "cp hostconfig.old hostconfig" This restored the original configuration file and when I rebooted, all was well. You may have to go into super user mode by typing "sudo cp hostconfig.old hostconfig" You will be asked for a password - probably for the remote computer, but possibly for the local one.

If you are using the finder, you should be able to drag the hostconfig.old file to your desktop, rename it, and drag it back to the etc directory.

There may be other issues here, but this is what worked for me.

Hope this helps.