PDA

View Full Version : Anyone running a 27" Monitor with their Macbook Air 13 (2011)




adonis3k
Sep 4, 2012, 11:40 AM
Hi all,

looking to get a 27" monitor for my MBA 13" which I think will require a Dual DVI adapter. Anyone got any recommendations for any monitor? mainly for Photoshop/movies.

I was going to go for the Hazro 27" HZ27WC but heard they have some issues.

Thanks



SuperRob
Sep 4, 2012, 12:33 PM
Hi all,

looking to get a 27" monitor for my MBA 13" which I think will require a Dual DVI adapter. Anyone got any recommendations for any monitor? mainly for Photoshop/movies.

I was going to go for the Hazro 27" HZ27WC but heard they have some issues.

Thanks

I'm getting the Nixeus this month when it's available. It's got DisplayPort, and that will work with a cheap adapter from Monoprice. Otherwise, yes, you would need a dual-DVI adapter.

http://www.amazon.com/Nixeus-Resolution-2560x1440-Monitor-NX-VUE27/dp/B008M08SN6/

stchman
Sep 4, 2012, 02:39 PM
Hi all,

looking to get a 27" monitor for my MBA 13" which I think will require a Dual DVI adapter. Anyone got any recommendations for any monitor? mainly for Photoshop/movies.

I was going to go for the Hazro 27" HZ27WC but heard they have some issues.

Thanks
I have had excellent results with Acer LCDs. I have an Acer 24" display and it is really nice.

As far as hooking it up you will need a Thunderbolt to HDMI/DVI adapter.

Monoprice is an excellent place for cables and adapters.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10428&cs_id=1042802&p_id=8119&seq=1&format=2

benjyyy
Sep 4, 2012, 02:51 PM
I have had excellent results with Acer LCDs. I have an Acer 24" display and it is really nice.

As far as hooking it up you will need a Thunderbolt to HDMI/DVI adapter.

Monoprice is an excellent place for cables and adapters.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10428&cs_id=1042802&p_id=8119&seq=1&format=2

HDMI will only work up to 1920 x 1200. Any higher will require a dual link DVI

tiwizard
Sep 4, 2012, 03:58 PM
HDMI will only work up to 1920 x 1200. Any higher will require a dual link DVI

Technically, HDMI 1.4 works fine with resolutions over 1080p (ie. 4k)

benjyyy
Sep 4, 2012, 04:38 PM
Technically, HDMI 1.4 works fine with resolutions over 1080p (ie. 4k)

Technically yes...but don't confuse matters lol it won't work!