PDA

View Full Version : Logic Pro 9 on G4 MDD!




uller6
Sep 4, 2012, 01:29 PM
Hey everyone,

The official specs for Logic Pro 9 require an INTEL based mac. That's funny - I successfully installed logic pro 9.0.0 on my MDD G4 (dual 1.25 FW 800), and it runs fine. I can get about 20 tracks simultaneously before the CPU overloads, which is much better than I was expecting. The G4 is actually significantly better with audio (by that I mean fewer overloads) than my old 2.4 C2D macbook pro, which goes to show how these old PPC CPUs are still pretty darn awesome.



biquet82
Sep 5, 2012, 12:49 PM
Very good news, I must try it on my iBook G4 :eek:

estrides
Sep 5, 2012, 01:58 PM
Can't wait to throw this on my G5!

uller6
Sep 5, 2012, 05:17 PM
I bet this would scream on a G5. Mine died two days ago, so I'm back to the G4.

One thing to mention: it seems ppc support was pulled as of the first logic 9 update. I can't get anything past 9.0.0 to run on the G4.

Jessica Lares
Sep 5, 2012, 07:33 PM
Good to know! Even more stuff to slap on my Power Mac G5.

Zeke D
Sep 5, 2012, 08:51 PM
I'm still using Logic Pro 8.0.2. Any major improvements with version9?

mayuka
Sep 9, 2012, 07:00 AM
I have installed Logic. It won't update but runs fine. Version is 9.0.0. Soundtrack Pro also runs on G4, but it's still version 2.0.2 and crashes occasionally.

Liquinn
Sep 9, 2012, 07:07 AM
Nice, thanks for the news! :)

I wish I could get Photoshop CS5 on my G5. :(