PDA

View Full Version : Full screen apps on extended display




saadat
Sep 11, 2012, 10:36 AM
Hello
I wish to run fullscreen apps on my extended display. As soon as i turn it on, on any of my displays, the other one goes blank. Tried searching on the forums too, but found no solution. Can anybody please suggest something? Thanks a lot



heisenberg123
Sep 11, 2012, 10:40 AM
Hello
I wish to run fullscreen apps on my extended display. As soon as i turn it on, on any of my displays, the other one goes blank. Tried searching on the forums too, but found no solution. Can anybody please suggest something? Thanks a lot

it wont work your only option is to use the pre-Lion full screen(ie stretch the window to the enite display)

saadat
Sep 11, 2012, 10:52 AM
it wont work your only option is to use the pre-Lion full screen(ie stretch the window to the enite display)

Is there no way, hack or app to help doing that? :confused:

Blipp
Sep 11, 2012, 11:00 AM
Is there no way, hack or app to help doing that? :confused:
There's nothing preventing you from doing it in Mountain Lion. Just instead of clicking the new "full-screen" button in the top right of the app window (this forces it into the mode you're trying to avoid) just drag the edges of the app to fill your screen.

Unfortunately there is no way as of now to utilize both the "full-screen" mode and multiple displays. This is a major design issue IMO. I would greatly appreciate a behavior that can better adapt to multi-display setups.

heisenberg123
Sep 11, 2012, 11:05 AM
Is there no way, hack or app to help doing that? :confused:

no the way Lion and ML were writted were to make the "full screen" app its own "desktop" to make swiping between them flawless. when you monitor is a extended desktop it doesnt know allow for 2 desktops to be active at the same time

Krazy Bill
Sep 11, 2012, 12:38 PM
Apple's implementation of Full Screen is err... well, it's stupid. Especially using dual monitors. No other way to put it. There's no reason why hiding a menu bar and some other crap for a single application should cause this kind of behavior.

If I want a full screen app to have it's own desktop, I'll put it there myself. I'm a big boy and won't get confused. (Scout's honor!)

MrWaffles
Sep 11, 2012, 02:26 PM
I thought for sure they would have dealt with this problem after people complaining about this when they introduced the full screen apps.

Youtube is really driving me nuts with the way it uses fullscreen in 10.8. Is there anyway around this when I'm using a second monitor?