Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

theGrayWorks

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 11, 2012
Hi, my name is theGrayWorks. I'm an adult and I use an iPod touch. I have no iPhone envy (well, maybe just a little bit concerning gps) and really don't envy the service contract it requires.

I'm also an independent iOS developer. Sure, I joined the forum to try to sell some apps but mostly I'm here to find out why others have chosen the iPod. (Call it market research.;))

My reason: I simply don't need any phone with a contract so the iPod was the obvious choice for me.

What about you? Why did you choose an iPod touch?

Last edited:

jbimler

macrumors regular
Mar 4, 2012
Same.

I looked into a pair on iPhones on a family contract and it's 170 before taxes. I'm through straight talk right now and it's a good deal. There is wifi almost everywhere I spend significant time so the iPod works for my needs.

jacobss

macrumors 6502
Apr 5, 2012
Netherlands
It used to be because it's thinner, cheaper than an iPhone and I don't use phones that much myself so any cheap phone was ok for me, but I still decided to get an iPhone 4S 3 month ago. If I didn't I would by now get the new iPod touch.

Techwriter

macrumors regular
Apr 1, 2010
Great thread, by the way. I am also an adult. Unlike a lot of people, I work from home and have wifi access all day. The iPod Touch gives me nearly all the functionality of an iPhone without paying the data fees. (I know it's different elsewhere, but I live in the US.)

It would be difficult making the switch to android after having access to all those wonderful apps. And if, as you say, you are an independent iOS developer, thank you for working so hard. It's those 700,000 apps that make iOS so much fun!

P.S. Between you and me, I, too, have iPhone envy from time to time. But when I consider the excessive carrier fees, I reach for the Touch and soon overcome them.