PDA

View Full Version : Mackbook air - college kid and durability

shenfrey
Sep 15, 2012, 07:30 AM
Hey guys, so im at college and shortly will be heading to universty, i need a laptop and was thinking about the macbook air but worried about durability. I know the macbook pros have an edge to edge glass screen and the airs do not, as are they alot thicker in general. Is a macbook air going to be suitable for carrying around on a day to day basis?

I am studying business and so i just need simple tasks like document processing, fast internet performance and as i mentioned, durability.

Thanks for your help guys

lls4f
Sep 15, 2012, 07:43 AM
I carry my air around in a nice padded sleeve every day in law school. So get yourself a quality sleeve, and it will hold up great

Dark Void
Sep 15, 2012, 09:30 AM
It will be fine, it's meant to be carried around.

tiwizard
Sep 15, 2012, 12:29 PM
The Macbook Air will definitely will hold up to day to day activities and use as long as you take reasonable care of it. For example, don't drop it, leave it where it could fall, on the floor where you'll step on it, etc.

For carrying in a backpack, definitely get a sleeve or case (http://macbooktips.info/accessories/macbook-sleeves-cases/). If you don't, your Macbook might be scratched by pens, zippers, etc if left in a backpack.

Of course, if you're really worried, you could always get a Pelican (http://amzn.to/Pmd7Wr). ;)

Mrbobb
Sep 15, 2012, 12:49 PM
Of course, if you're really worried, you could always get a Pelican (http://amzn.to/Pmd7Wr). ;)

If I have to do that, I'd rather get a Panasonic Toughbook (do they still sell them?). Once to prove its toughness they threw a bowling ball at it and it survived!

OnceYouGoMac
Sep 15, 2012, 03:52 PM
I carry my air around in a nice padded sleeve every day in law school. So get yourself a quality sleeve, and it will hold up great