PDA

View Full Version : Macbook air suddenly slow.

orfeas0
Sep 19, 2012, 08:30 AM
I have a 2011 mba 11" with 2gb ram and it was running fine but it seems kinda sluggish now... I mean even an e-book on preview and 2-3 firefox tabs seems a lot for it to work fast.
Might it be that it's connected to a 1080p external display? But it wasn't like that from the start.

It's very slow when I'm doing things on the external display, either browsing or reading.
Also, I never have more than 100mb free ram, even though I have like 700mb inactive.
I read that inactive is as good as free, but is that really true? Otherwise why would it be slow if I have so much free ram?
Is it the GPU's problem?

filmbuff
Sep 19, 2012, 12:27 PM
It's not GPU related if it is just taking a long time to load things. It probably is the RAM since you only have 2GB. I don't know how much you are using at any moment but I bet that is the culprit. If it really slowed down dramatically all at once you could have a bad stick of RAM.

paulcdb
Sep 19, 2012, 12:50 PM
best bet is to open activity monitor and see what it shows. Chrome used to be a bit annoying in not releasing memory when it's finished and doesn't 'close' when you tell it to but it's been a lot better now.

orfeas0
Sep 19, 2012, 07:41 PM
best bet is to open activity monitor and see what it shows. Chrome used to be a bit annoying in not releasing memory when it's finished and doesn't 'close' when you tell it to but it's been a lot better now.

I'm not using chrome any more since I realised it can't run java.

But the thing is, I do have empty ram when it's sluggish.
Activity monitor shows plenty of INACTIVE ram, but only some MBs of FREE ram.
Is Inactive as good as free, or is that a lie? And how do I empty it? Should I reset the vram?

paulcdb
Sep 20, 2012, 12:37 PM
I'm not using chrome any more since I realised it can't run java.

But the thing is, I do have empty ram when it's sluggish.