PDA

View Full Version : Can You Throttle Devices on a Network?




sammyman
Sep 21, 2012, 11:01 PM
Is there anyway you can throttle certain devices on a Network? I have an Airport Extreme and would like to prevent certain devices from sucking up too much bandwidth. Is there any program that would allow me to do that?



aussiedj
Sep 22, 2012, 10:12 AM
Yep, but you need to do it on the modem. There is no way to do it on the airport extreme.

It's called QoS or Quality of Service.

http://www.billion.com/edu/qos/01-What-is-QoS.html

I think that's what your looking for.

trevorlc
Sep 22, 2012, 10:25 PM
There might be a 3rd party application you can install on the computers directly to limit their throughput, however this may also limit their throughput on the local network for file sharing/print sharing which may really suck.

Beyond that the way its done is usually through QoS as the poster above said, though I do not believe the airport extreme has any advanced abilities for QoS. You might considering looking into getting a router that you can flash to dd-wrt which is a open source router software that gives many advanced features that most routers software do not support from the manufacture. Or you if your into learning a bit you could get one of the business grade routers though that can be quite a bit to dive into if you do not have any prior experience.