PDA

View Full Version : Need way to extend wifi coverage at home.




Tootles
Sep 24, 2012, 01:52 PM
At my home we use a Linksys E1000 wireless router with laptops that are running either Lion or Snow Leopard and, a tablet running Android Gingerbread. The only problem is that, when I try to connect from a different floor, the wifi signal strength/clarity can waver. Sometimes it's strong enough to watch a Youtube video without pausing to buffer. Many times though, the devices are "Unable to connect". If a repeater or something would be good to add to the network, I'd like some advice, at least for getting a stronger/clearer signal for my Macbook Air running OS Lion. Thanks.



Weaselboy
Sep 24, 2012, 05:20 PM
What you want is a device like and Airport Express that supports WDS (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wireless_distribution_system) to extend the wifi network. For this to work both the base router (like your Linksys) and the extended device (Airport Express) need to support the protocol.

The Airport Express does support WDS. You need to find out if the Linksys supports WDS.

Also, even if the Linksys does support WDS, there are sometimes problems between brands with WDS... so there is no guarantee.

The best way to guarantee it works is having both devices from the same brand.

WSR
Sep 24, 2012, 10:43 PM
Also the Airport Express supports the "Extend a wireless network" option.
I use an Airport Express and an Airport Extreme(base router) to extend my network to a neighbor's house.
Plus, the new Airport Express has the ability to connect other devices to it via a cat5 cable. I use one to get my TIVO on the network.

Also, before buying another router make sure the Linksys router is running at full power. I know that Apple routers have the ability to run at lower power settings, but I don't know if Linksys routers have that option. Probably not, but worth a check.

AlanShutko
Sep 25, 2012, 09:07 AM
WDS can work, but the speed on the extended router will be half the speed from the original router. I used it for a year or two, and it can definitely help if you have a marginal signal.

If there's any way you could run an ethernet line to a second location and plug the new access point (airport express or something else, but NOT a wireless router) that will get you much better speeds.