PDA

View Full Version : Activity Monitor & quad-core i7




davidlv
Sep 25, 2012, 10:16 AM
Should the CPU tab of Activity Monitor show all 4 cores on a quad-core i7 MBP late 2011 2.2GHz?
On my Mac mini 2011 base model, the CPU tab shows 4 panes, 2 cores and 2 virtual cores, and on a 2009 MBP C2D, it show 2 panes, 1 for each core.
All I see on the quad-core is one pane. Is this normal? Activity Monitor doesn't show a version number, just 10.8.0.
Running OS X 10.8.2



Fed
Sep 25, 2012, 11:32 AM
Should Activity Monitor show all 4 cores on a quad-core i7 MBP late 2011 2.2GHz?
On my Mac mini 2011 base model, it shows 4 panes, 2 cores and 2 virtual cores, and on a 2009 MBP C2D, it show 2 panes, 1 for each core.
All I see on the quad-core is one pane. Is this normal? Activity Monitor doesn't show a version number, just 10.8.0.
Running OS X 10.8.2

I'm not sure about the default Mac app but iStat Menus (http://bjango.com/mac/istatmenus/) is well worth the money.

I did just check my activity monitor, under 'CPU' it shows 4 for a 2 core i7.

theSeb
Sep 25, 2012, 12:08 PM
Should Activity Monitor show all 4 cores on a quad-core i7 MBP late 2011 2.2GHz?
On my Mac mini 2011 base model, it shows 4 panes, 2 cores and 2 virtual cores, and on a 2009 MBP C2D, it show 2 panes, 1 for each core.
All I see on the quad-core is one pane. Is this normal? Activity Monitor doesn't show a version number, just 10.8.0.
Running OS X 10.8.2

Yes, that is normal. There is a CPU window where you can view all 8 cores (4 physical, 4 virtual)

davidlv
Sep 25, 2012, 02:02 PM
Yes, that is normal. There is a CPU window where you can view all 8 cores (4 physical, 4 virtual)
Well, thanks, but something isn't right, the CPU tab only shows 1 pane.
:confused:

Ledgem
Sep 25, 2012, 02:04 PM
Well, thanks, but something isn't right, the CPU tab only shows 1 pane.
:confused:
Double-click it to bring up all eight panes (four "real" cores, four virtual - the order seems to be a real core followed by a virtual core, repeating like that).

davidlv
Sep 25, 2012, 02:19 PM
Double-click it to bring up all eight panes (four "real" cores, four virtual - the order seems to be a real core followed by a virtual core, repeating like that).
Thanks! Problem solved.:D