PDA

View Full Version : clamav.net process




patent10021
Sep 29, 2012, 11:43 AM
I cant even write this!

wtf is clamav.net? I see it in my system monitor.

I got some Apple update tonight and not only did my desktop picture get deleted but Safari is crashing every minute.



GGJstudios
Sep 29, 2012, 11:47 AM
I cant even write this!

wtf is clamav.net? I see it in my system monitor.
ClamAV is antivirus software. Have you tried resetting Safari, clearing your cache and cookies? Also try disabling any extensions you have.

patent10021
Sep 29, 2012, 11:50 AM
ClamAV is antivirus software. Have you tried resetting Safari, clearing your cache and cookies? Also try disabling any extensions you have.

but I don't want clam Fn net.

Anyway that's the least of my probs.

Safari is crashing every minute and my desktop pic got deleted somehow.

GGJstudios
Sep 29, 2012, 11:54 AM
but I don't want clam Fn net.

Anyway that's the least of my probs.

Safari is crashing every minute and my desktop pic got deleted somehow.
ClamAV is built into Mac OS X. Don't worry about it. Did you reset Safari, as I recommended?

patent10021
Sep 29, 2012, 12:04 PM
ClamAV is built into Mac OS X. Don't worry about it. Did you reset Safari, as I recommended?

All except passwords and sites. Disabled AdBlock / ClickToFlash extensions. Just waiting right now to see what happens.

p.s. why would my desktop also disappear?

Weaselboy
Sep 29, 2012, 12:17 PM
but I don't want clam Fn net.

Anyway that's the least of my probs.

Safari is crashing every minute and my desktop pic got deleted somehow.

clamav.net is a process that only runs in OS X server, not the retail version of Lion. I see there was a OS X Server update (http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/os-x-server/id537441259?mt=12) a couple days ago... is that what you installed?

If you are running OS X Server and want to disable ClamAV, I believe you can do that under the Mail filtering area in server settings.

patent10021
Sep 29, 2012, 12:25 PM
clamav.net is a process that only runs in OS X server, not the retail version of Lion. I see there was a OS X Server update (http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/os-x-server/id537441259?mt=12) a couple days ago... is that what you installed?

If you are running OS X Server and want to disable ClamAV, I believe you can do that under the Mail filtering area in server settings.

Well I'm not running anything to do with the server. Just bought the i7 Mini for the speed. So should I kill it?

Sorry, where is it? What's the path to the settings? I don't see it in Sys prefs or anything.

Weaselboy
Sep 29, 2012, 12:35 PM
Well I'm not running anything to do with the server. Just bought the i7 Mini for the speed. So should I kill it?

Sorry, where is it? What's the path to the settings? I don't see it in Sys prefs or anything.

It sounds like you installed ClamXav (http://www.clamxav.com) at some point? You can run it if you want. No harm in it.

Here is how to uninstall (from their web FAQ).

22. How do I uninstall ClamXav completely?

First thing to do is quit ClamXav Sentry (if you use it) and make sure it's not set to launch at log in. You will then need to find the ClamXav disk image which you downloaded when you installed ClamXav (or download the current one again) as you will find an uninstaller application on that disk.

The uninstaller will remove the engine and any schedules you've got set up. All that's left is to drag ClamXav.app to the trash.

patent10021
Sep 29, 2012, 12:46 PM
It sounds like you installed ClamXav (http://www.clamxav.com) at some point? You can run it if you want. No harm in it.

Here is how to uninstall (from their web FAQ).

no no no. Like he says above it came with OS X Server Mail and I have OS X Server on my Mini. I'm not using Server though so I want to delete it from Server.

Btw @ GGStudios, it looks like the extension blocking did the trick. Couldve been an old YouTube extension in there.

Thanks

patent10021
Sep 29, 2012, 12:57 PM
oh you know what?!?!

I forgot, I can't find the OS X Server icon etc because I did a clean install of Lion a while back to get rid of it and start clean lol.

So now I have to figure out how clamav.net got on my HD and how to delete it!

patent10021
Sep 29, 2012, 01:33 PM
Weird so apparently this as you said comes with Server but I didn't have server so it's a mystery.

Anyway I ready that you have to download this ClamAV engine remover then run it. Automated Terminal process. This is what I got.

This program will REMOVE any version of the ClamAV engine installed by ClamXav, including the clamav user (excluding Tiger).
It will not remove an installation made by Fink or Darwinports.
If you don't know what either of those are, you probably don't need to worry!

You may now be asked for your administrator password.
For security reasons, nothing will appear on screen when you type.
Trust your fingers and hit the return/enter key when you're done.
Password:


rm: /usr/local/clamXav: No such file or directory
rm: /Library/Receipts/clamav*: No such file or directory
rm: /Library/Receipts/ClamAV*: No such file or directory

As you're running OS X 10.4 or higher, the clamav user was not removed because it was created by Apple.
The actual engine and any schedules you had set have been removed though


REMOVER has now finished.
Drag the ClamXav application to the trash and you're done.
You do not need to restart or logout, just close this window.
Please visit www.clamxav.com if you have any questions.
logout

[Process completed]
Says, "As you're running OS X 10.4 or higher, the clamav user was not removed because it was created by Apple.".

But the engine was removed so whos knows ...

Weaselboy
Sep 29, 2012, 02:14 PM
Weird so apparently this as you said comes with Server but I didn't have server so it's a mystery.

Glad it worked out. It only comes from a OS X server install, so that must be where you got it. I wonder if when you did the reinstall of Lion it did not wipe everything for a true "clean install" like you thought. :confused:

patent10021
Sep 29, 2012, 02:16 PM
Glad it worked out. It only comes from a OS X server install, so that must be where you got it. I wonder if when you did the reinstall of Lion it did not wipe everything for a true "clean install" like you thought. :confused:Well I actually zero'd my HD so...voodoo.