PDA

View Full Version : Access Internet over VPN




ByteTax
Sep 30, 2012, 06:51 PM
Hi,
I would like browsing on work with my home public address.
I have a dynamic public address at home. For example 89.233.9.77

Can you help me please to realize that

I tryied it out wit Mountain Lion Server, but it did not work. Is there a guide? Is it possible?


I can do it with Cisco ASA Firewall, but dont want to pay 300$ for Hardware.



kgs
Sep 30, 2012, 07:05 PM
Hi,
I would like browsing on work with my home public address.
I have a dynamic public address at home. For example 89.233.9.77

Can you help me please to realize that

I tryied it out wit Mountain Lion Server, but it did not work. Is there a guide? Is it possible?


I can do it with Cisco ASA Firewall, but dont want to pay 300$ for Hardware.

You can definitely do it but it's going to be pretty complex to set up.

Is there a particular reason why you want to do this? I ask only because there may be much better alternatives that are much easier to set up.

ByteTax
Oct 1, 2012, 01:42 AM
I ask only because there may be much better alternatives that are much easier to set up.

An alternative would be great. Can you tell me more?
I heard about openVPN and Windows 7 VPN. But these are Access only I think.

I will use it only for me, not commercial. For example to bypass firewall at work or to have my country ip in holidays for watching tv.

I have written an application which saves my current public IP in dropbox. (because dynamic ip)

kgs
Oct 1, 2012, 09:41 AM
An alternative would be great. Can you tell me more?
I heard about openVPN and Windows 7 VPN. But these are Access only I think.

I will use it only for me, not commercial. For example to bypass firewall at work or to have my country ip in holidays for watching tv.

I have written an application which saves my current public IP in dropbox. (because dynamic ip)

You can use this instead of your application:

http://dyn.com/dns/

It actually gives you a subdomain that you can set to a dynamic IP on your home computer. It's all automated.

As for alternatives. You could use any VPN service out there, though it will cost money.

http://lifehacker.com/5935863/five-best-vpn-service-providers

You may also be fine using a proxy server.

For this type of thing, I'd really encourage you to not try to host your own unless you know what you're doing.

Also, be careful doing this at work, if they block these types of things, it's usually for a reason and bypassing it may result in repercussions and possibly termination. So, you've been warned.

ByteTax
Oct 1, 2012, 12:01 PM
DynDNS is not free anymore?

Its more a hobby project. I dont want to use Service Provider.